Madderty, Perthshire, Scotland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Madderty, Perthshire, Scotland)

Scotland Gotoarrow.png Perthshire Gotoarrow.png Madderty

Parish #378

This is a guide to the history and major genealogical records of Scotland as they pertain to the parish of Madderty. To learn more about how to use these records to search for your ancestors, go to the Scotland: Research Strategies.


Contents

History

MADDERTY, a parish, in the county of Perth, 6 miles (E.) from Crieff; containing the hamlet of Bellyclone, and the burgh of barony of Craig of Madderty. A religious house was founded here in the year 1200, by Gilbert, Earl of Strathearn, and his countess, Matilda, and dedicated to the honour of God, the Virgin Mary, and St. John the Apostle and Evangelist. It was called Inch-Effray, and took its name both from its situation on an eminence surrounded, or nearly so, by the river Pow, and from the nature of the institution; its Latin appellation was insula missarum, or "the island of masses." The church is a plain edifice erected in 1668.[1]

The New Statistical Account of Scotland (pub. 1834-45) offers uniquely rich and detailed parish reports for the whole of Scotland, covering a vast range of topics including history, agriculture, education, trades, religion and social customs. The reports, written by the parish ministers, are available online at http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/. Click on ‘Browse scanned pages’ then search the parish reports for your parish of interest. Also available at the Family History Library.

Census Records

A census is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. Read more about census records.

Here is a list of the Family History Library microfilm numbers for the census records of Madderty, as well as the library numbers for any surname indexes available:

Year
FHL Film Number
Surname Indexes
1841
1042695
none
1851
1042247
941.32 X22p 1851 no. 378
1861
0103894
none
1871
0104077
none
1881
0203509
6086646 (6 fiche)
1891
0208738
none

The 1901 census of Scotland is indexed on www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. To use it, you must register and pay a small access fee. All available censuses, 1841-1901, are indexed on this website. It may be easier for you to pay to use the website rather than access the separate indexes through the library.

Church Records

The Established Church of Scotland was Presbyterian. Read more about church records.
Here are the pre-1855 records that exist for this parish.


Established Church—Old Parochial Registers

Record Type Years Covered FHL Film Number
Births: 1701-1820 1040128 item 3-4

1820-1854, 1880 - baptisms 1040332 item 1
Marriages: 1709-1819 1040128 item 3-4

1820-1847 1040332 item 1
Deaths: 1758-1817 - mortcloth dues 1040128 item 3-4

1821-1853 1040332 item 1

 
Condition of Original Registers—

Indexed: For an index to these records, see the Scottish Church Records Index available on computers at the Family History Library and family history centers.  The records may be indexed in the International Genealogical Index.
Births: Births intermixed with marriages and other matters until 1709. Separate record of Births from July 1709. No entries July 1745–June 1746. Mothers' names not recorded until1759.
Marriages: Proclamations and marriage entries are recorded among the births until April 1709 and mixed with Mortcloth Dues after September 1709.
Deaths: Mortcloth Dues. Entries recorded among proclamation of marriages. No entries 1799–1837.
Source: Key to the Parochial Registers of Scotland, by V. Ben Bloxham, pub. 1970. British Book 941 K23b.

Established Church—Kirk Session Records

The Kirk session was the court of the parish. The session was made up of the minister and the land owners and business men of the parish, chosen to serve on the session. The Kirk session dealt with moral issues, minor criminal cases, matters of the poor and education, matters of discipline, and the general concerns of the parish. Kirk session records may also mention births, marriages, and deaths.

Here is a list of the surviving Kirk session records for this parish:

No pre-1855 records.

Nonconformist Church Records

A nonconformist church is any church that is not the Established church. Read more about nonconformity in Scotland in the article on the Scotland Church Records Union Lists.

Madderty Free Church

History—
Regular supply was provided for Madderty immediately after the Disruption and the charge was sanctioned in August 1844. Delayed by difficulty in securing a site, the church and manse were not built until 1845. Both were renovated in 1891 with an addition being made to the manse. The district is entirely rural. The population steadily decreased after 1843.
Membership: 1848, 163; 1900, 88.
Source: Annals of the Free Church of Scotland, 1843–1900, ed. Rev. William Ewing, D.D., 2 vols. pub. 1914. Film #918572. More details are given in the source.

Records—
Minutes 1845–1915
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH3/718.

Civil Registration Records

Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Each parish has a registrar's office and large cities have several. The records are created by the registrars and copies are sent to the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Annual indexes are then created for the records for the whole country.
See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.

Probate Records

Madderty was under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of Dunblane until 1823, and since then has been under the Sheriff's Court of Dunblane. Probate records for 1513- 1901 are indexed online at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Perthshire and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of Dunblane.

The library also has some post-1823 probate records for Perthshire. Look in the library catalog
 for the 'Place-names' of Perthshire and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'

Read more about Scotland Probate Records.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Scotland (1846), pp. 225-244. Adapted. Date accessed: 15 May 2014.


Return to Perthshire parish list.


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:48.
  • This page has been accessed 1,800 times.