Madison County, IndianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Madison County

Guide to Madison County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Indiana
Online Records
Madison County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 4, 1823
County Seat Anderson
Courthouse
Address Madison County Courthouse
16 E 9th
Anderson, IN 46016
Phone: 765.641.9457
Madison County Website
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
1882*
1853*
1882*
1822
1879
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

  • Parent Counties: Formed from Delaware New Purchase and Marion County in 4 January 1823.[1]
  • County Seat: Anderson[2]


Neighboring Counties

Grant  • Delaware  • Henry  • Hancock  • Hamilton  • Tipton


Madison CountyHenry CountyDalaware CountyGrant CountyBlackford CountyRush CountyHancock CountyFayette CountyHoward CountyTipton CountyHamilton CountyMarion CountyINMadison.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

December 1880 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged. For a list of record loss in Indiana Counties see: Indiana Counties with Burned Courthouses


For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business Records

Cemeteries

Census Records

For tips on accessing Madison County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Madison County, Indiana Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Directories

DNA

DNA has been collected from men claiming descent from the following Madison County, Indiana residents. Attempts have not been made to verify the lineages of those tested.

Emigration and Immigration

Gazetteers

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Madison County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

History

Local Histories

  • Forkner, John L., and Byron H. Dyson. 1974. Historical sketches and reminiscences of Madison County, Indiana: a detailed history of the early events of the pioneer settlement of the county, and many of the happenings of recent years, as well as a complete history of each township. (Tucson, Arizona: Americana Unlimited.) 977.257 H2fj FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection other librariesINTERNETACHIVE Google books
  • HARDEN, S. (1874).History of Madison County, Indiana, from 1820 to 1874 giving a general review of principal events, statistical and historical items, derived from official sources. (Markleville, Ind, [s.n.].) 977.257 H2h FHL US/CAN Book  other libraries   INTERNETACHIVE Google books
  • 1973).Portrait and biographical record of Madison and Hamilton counties, Indiana: containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens of the counties, together with biographies and portraits of all the presidents of the United States. (Evansville, Ind, Unigraphic, Inc. ) other libraries  INTERNET ARCHIVE
  • FORKNER, J. L. R. (1970). History of Madison County, Indiana; a narrative account of its historical progress, its people and its principal interests. (Evansville, Ind, Unigraphic.) other librariesINTERNET ARCHIVE

Maps

Military Records

- see - Military Records and Histories - Linkpendium

Civil War

Civil War service men from Madison County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Madison County.

Civil War Books

  • "Military History" Chapter 17 in FORKNER, J. L. R. (1970). History of Madison County, Indiana; a narrative account of its historical progress, its people and its principal interests. (Evansville, Ind, Unigraphic.), (page 283-308, Regiment,Companies, Name's) other libraries INTERNET ARCHIVE

World War I

World War II

Newspapers

Obituaries

Occupations

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Madison County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

School Records

= Voter Registration

Repositories

See also a List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives

County Courthouse

Madison County Courthouse
16 E 9th;
Anderson, IN 46016
Phone: 765.641.9457

County Health Department has birth records from 1891
and death records from 1895.
County Clerk has marriage records from 1884,
divorce, probate and court records from 1880.
County Auditor has land records from 1867.
County Board of Health has school records 1904-1932. [3]

Family History Centers

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

The main FamilySearch Center for Madison County, Indiana is the

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.

For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Madison County, Indiana Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

  • Indiana State Digital Archives for Death, E-Publication, Institution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)

Birth Records

Marriage Records

Death Records

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Madison County, Indiana Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Web Sites

Places

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Madison County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Madison_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Madison County, Indiana 214 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 April 2014, at 17:37.
  • This page has been accessed 7,718 times.