Maidenhead, Berkshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Maidenhead St Luke, Berkshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Parishes 

Guide to Maidenhead, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Maidenhead, Berkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bray; Cookham
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Cookham
Registration District Cookham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1866
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Reading
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office


Parish History

MAIDENHEAD, a market-town, partly in the parish of Bray, and partly in that of Cookham, having separate jurisdiction, though locally in the hundred of Bray and Cookham, union of Cookham, county of Berks, 13 miles (N. E. by E.) from Reading, and 26 (W.) from London. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends, the Countess of Huntingdon's Connexion, Wesleyans, and Independents. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Maidenhead, Berkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BERK = Berkshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£).[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Maidenhead, Berkshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images

IGI 1796-1823

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Countess of Huntingdon Methodist
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241197.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Maidenhead in GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 208-216. Date accessed: 10 April 2013.
  2. 'New Berkshire parish records published on,', findmypast, accessed 28 January 2014.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Berkshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 January 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 May 2015, at 19:15.
  • This page has been accessed 2,061 times.