Maine GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Maine)

United StatesGotoarrow.png Maine

Guide to Maine ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records

Maine Genealogical Society News and Events
www.maineroots.org/
Maine Topics
Moderator
If you are interested in being the moderator for Maine Genealogy, Please contact the Support Team.


Records from this area are currently being indexed by volunteers. Come join the effort and help us index the US, Maine—Vital Records, 1892–1907 Part B



Welcome to the Maine page,
the Pine Tree State

Portland Head Light Station, ME.
Most unique genealogical features:
  • British fisherman permanently settled Maine before the Pilgrims in 1620
  • Maine was part of Massachusetts until the 1820 Missouri Compromise[1]
  • Numerous border, county, and name changes affected record keeping[1]
  • Maine has the most uneven quality of vital town records of New England[2]
   How to Find Information about Maine Ancestors
 

1. Birth Information
2. Marriage Information
3. Death Information

Hand and keyboard.jpg Maine
Online Records


Counties

Click on the map below to go to a county page. Hover over a county to see its name. To see a larger version of the map, click here.

York CountyCumberland CountyOxford CountyAndroscoggin CountySagadahoc CountyLincoln CountyKnox CountyKennebec CountyWaldo CountyHancock CountyWashington CountyPenobscot CountyFranklin CountySomerset CountyPiscataquis CountyAroostook CountyMaine-county-map.gif

Extinct or Renamed Counties:  Cornwall · Devonshire · Dominion of New England · East · Lincoln (old) · Massachusetts Bay Colony · New Ireland Colony · New Somerset · West · Yorkshire

Major Repositories

Maine State Archives · Maine State Library · Maine Historical Society · Cutler Memorial Library (Farmington) · Allen County Public Library · New England Historic Genealogical Society · National Archives Northeast Region (Boston)
Maine flag.png

Migration Routes

Atlantic Coast Ports · Kennebec River · Penobscot River · Saco River · Saint John River (Maine) · Down East · Kennebunk Road · King's Highway

Did you know?

Maine was formed by glaciers in the Ice Age. The state covers 33,387 square miles which ranks it 39th in size among all states. Understanding the lay of the land can help you find records for your ancestors. The Maine Maps article provides more information about the state.

Research Tools

Wiki articles describing these collections are found at:

Maine.png

Obtain additional help

Things you can do

Below list some of the many tasks you can help with:


Wiki Volunteers Wanted

To add your knowledge and help expand the wiki click here:

Sources

  1. 1.0 1.1 Alice Eichholz, ed., Redbook: American State, County, and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 269. (FHL Book 973 D27rb). WorldCat entry.
  2. Eichholz, 270.



 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 February 2015, at 04:08.
  • This page has been accessed 125,342 times.