Malta GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Malta ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
Malta is an island in the Mediterranean Sea. It was ruled anciently by Phoenicians, Romans, Arabs and eventually the Normans. It was controlled from 1530 to 1798 by the Knights of Malta, also known as the Order of St. John of Jerusalem. After brief Napoleonic rule, the British took it over in 1814. In 1921 Malta was granted self-government from the British. Malta achieved independence within the British Commonwealth in 1964. Malta became a sovereign republic in 1974.
Ethnic groups include Maltese, English, Italian, Arab, and French.
Maltese is the most common language for daily conversation, but English and Italian are also used. All three languages are found in the records, the majority being in English and Italian.
- H. V. Wyatt, "Guide to searching Maltese Ancestors," Journal of Maltese History 3 (2013): 84-90; online archive (http://www.um.edu.mt/arts/history/journal/volume_3,_number_2,_2013 : accessed 28 April 2015).
- Malta genealogy Databases of baptisms, marriages, burials and notaries
- Malta Family History Several indexes with names, dates and relationships. The records range in date from 1798 to 1950.
- Maltese Emigration
- Maltese Nobility
- Malta culture
- Directiory of Cities, Towns, and Regions in Malta
- Diocese of Gozo
- Adami collection
- Ministry of Gozo
- City populations in Malta
- About Malta
- Map of Malta
- The Church in Malta - Archives of the Archbishop of Malta
- Facebook page for Malta Genealogy
- Guide to research in Malta on Geneanum.com - website is in French
Links to articles, subcategories and images under the Category Malta
- This page was last modified on 9 September 2015, at 03:50.
- This page has been accessed 19,977 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News