Manatee County, Florida GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Manatee County, Florida ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Manatee County, Florida|
Location in the state of Florida
Location of Florida in the U.S.
|Founded||January 9, 1855|
Manatee County, Florida Record Dates
Manatee County Courthouse
1115 Manatee Ave W; PO Box 25400;
Bradenton, FL 34206
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1857
Manatee County was created in 1855 from Hillsborough County and is located on the gulf coast on the south side of Tampa Bay. It is in the semi-subtropic climate zone. Later Sarasota, Hardee, DeSoto, Highlands, Charlotte, and Glades counties were split off from Manatee County. Current records are kept at the Manatee County Courthouse
For animated maps illustrating Florida county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Florida County Boundary Maps" (1821-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
For a list of record loss in Florida counties see: Florida Counties with Burned Courthouses
Places / Localities
- Florida Tombstone Transcription Project - USGenWeb
- Interment.net - Florida cemetery records by County
- Tombstone Inscriptions in Cemeteries of Manatee County Florida 1850 - 1980. Published in 1982 by Manatee Genealogical Society (MGS) is now available for viewing on the MGS Website. Locally the book can be viewed at the Manatee County Library (downtown Bradenton), or the Manatee County Historical Records Library.
For tips on accessing Manatee County, Florida Genealogy census records online, see: Florida Census.
- 1783 Spanish Census - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1821 Census/Tax List Index - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1823 Census/Tax List Index - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1880 Census African Born Blacks and Mulattos - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Federal Census Information from National Archives - USGenWeb Archives Project
- State Census Information from Florida State Archives - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Census of Pensioners Revolutionary Military Service - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Extractions from Manatee County Censuses of 1860 - 1870 - 1880 - 1885 - 1895. Book published in 1985 by Manatee Genealogical Society (MGS) is now available for viewing on the MGS Website. Locally the book can be viewed at the Manatee County Library (downtown Bradenton), or the Manatee County Historical Records Library.
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Manatee County, Florida Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.
- Maps of Florida (1821-1997)
- 1870 Gray's Atlas Panhandle Portion of State - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1882 Rand McNally Panhandle Portion of State - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Florida State Military Files - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Pension Transcriptions - Florida state pension records from various wars - USGenWeb Pension Project
- Florida Casualties in the Korean Conflict
- Florida Casualties in the Vietnam War
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Manatee County, Florida Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- Florida Obituaries - Obituary transcriptions from Florida counties - USGenWeb Obituaries Project
- Obituaries published in Bradenton Herald (Obituary File 1976-present), a service of the Manatee Genealogical Society. The Card File is located at the Historical Records Library in Bradenton, FL.
Probate records are held by the Manatee County, Florida Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Manatee County, Florida Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Florida Probate Records, 1784-1990. See the wiki page Florida Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Florida Vital Records
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Florida.
- 1877 - 1939 Florida, Deaths, 1877-1939 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1900 - 1921 Florida, Deaths and Burials, 1900-1921 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1877 - 1998 Florida, Death Index, 1877-1998 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1837 - 1974 Florida, Marriages, 1837-1974 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1830 - 1993 Florida, Marriages, 1830-1993 at FamilySearch.org — index/images
- 1822 - 1875 and 1927 - 2001 Florida, Marriage Index, 1822-1875 and 1927-2001 at FamilySearch.org — index/images
- 1856-1928 - Manatee County Marriage Books B-G Index 1856-1928 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
- Manatee County, Florida Obituary Collection Free from GenealogyBuff.com. From Various Funeral Homes in the Bradenton, Sarasota, Parrish, and Palmetto areas.
- Obituaries published in Bradenton Herald - Obituary File 1976-present, a service of the Manatee Genealogical Society. The Card File is located at the Historical Records Library in Bradenton, FL.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Brandenton Florida Family History Center
- Manatee County Items at the Bradenton Family History Library. List compiled by the Manatee Genealogical Society and posted on the MGS Website.
- Manatee County GenWeb Project, Inc.
- Manatee County, Florida Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- State of Florida
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Sarasota County, Florida Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Sarasota County, FLGenWeb Project, Inc.
Societies and Libraries
Most Manatee County historical records (usually more than 1 year old) are transfered to the [Records Library] located at 1405 4th Ave W. Bradenton, FL 34205. Phone: (941) 741-4070. The Historical Records Library is housed within the 1918 Carnegie Library building, which was placed on the U.S. Department of the Interior's Registry of Historic Sites in 1987.
- Manatee County, FL History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Florida Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Florida Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Manatee Genealogical Society
- FamilySearch Catalog
- ↑ Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 123-139. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/3/3f/Igifloridamz.pdf.
- This page was last modified on 24 September 2015, at 04:12.
- This page has been accessed 9,906 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News