Manor, Peeblesshire, Scotland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Manor, Peeblesshire, Scotland)

Scotland Gotoarrow.png Peeblesshire Gotoarrow.png Manor

Manor (#766)

This is a guide to the history and major genealogical records of Scotland as they pertain to the parish of Manor.  To learn more about how to use these records to search for your ancestors, go to the Scotland: Research Strategies.

 

Contents

History

MANOR, a parish, in the county of Peebles, 2½ miles (S. W.) from Peebles. This parish, of which the name is of very uncertain derivation, is nine miles in length from north-east to south-west, and about three miles in average breadth; it is bounded for nearly two miles by the river Tweed. The church, an ancient edifice, and inconveniently situated, is in good repair.[1]


The New Statistical Account of Scotland (pub. 1834-45) offers uniquely rich and detailed parish reports for the whole of Scotland, covering a vast range of topics including history, agriculture, education, trades, religion and social customs. The reports, written by the parish ministers, are available online at http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/.  Click on ‘Browse scanned pages’ then search the parish reports for Manor.  Also available at the Family History Library.

Census Records

A census is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. Read more about Scotland Census Records.

Click here for a list of the Family History Library microfilm numbers for the census records of Manor.

Below is information for any known surname indexes:

 

Years Surname Index             
1841 941.46/B1 X2m 1841
1851 941.46/B1 X2m 1851
1861 941.46/B1 X2m 1861
1871
1881 6086640 ( 1 fiche)
1891

The 1901 census of Scotland is indexed on www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk.  To use it, you must register and pay a small access fee. All available censuses, 1841-1901, are indexed on this website. It may be easier for you to pay to use the website rather than access indexes through the library.

 

Church Records

The Established Church of Scotland was Presbyterian. Read more about Scotland Church Records.

Here are the pre-1855 records that exist for this parish.

Established Church—Old Parochial Registers

Years Covered FHL Fillm Number
Births: 1663-1854 1067919 items 1-2
Marriages: 1664-1818, 1824-1850 1067919 items 1-2
Deaths: 1663-1851 1067919 items 1-2

Condition of Original Registers—

Indexed: For an index to these records, see the Scottish Church Records Index on computer at the Family History Library and family history  centers.  Some records may be indexed in the International Genealogical Index. 
Births: Prior to 1682, births were recorded on parallel columns of the same register with marriages and deaths. No entries February 1682–April 1683, except one, December 1689–September 1695, October 1721–November 1723, and October 1734–January 1743 except for two entries. There is a duplicate of the record 1760–1787.
Marriages: Prior to 1682, marriages were recorded on parallel columns of the same register with births and deaths. No entries July 1681–May 1683, August 1688–November 1695, November 1731–December 1759, except a few for 1733. There is only one entry 1824, December 1818–February 1829.
Deaths: Prior to 1682, deaths were recorded on parallel columns of the same register with births and marriages. There were no entries January 1682–September 1695, December 1696–November 1723, and October 1733–January 1760. There are also Mortcloth Dues recorded 1702–1721.
Source: Key to the Parochial Registers of Scotland, by V. Ben Bloxham, pub. 1970. British Book 941 K23b.


Established Church—Kirk Session Records

The Kirk session was the court of the parish. The session was made up of the minister and the land owners and business men of the parish, chosen to serve on the session. The Kirk session dealt with moral issues, minor criminal cases, matters of the poor and education, matters of discipline, and the general concerns of the parish. Kirk session records may also mention births, marriages, and deaths.

Here is a list of the surviving Kirk session records for this parish:

Minutes 1663–1689 (with collections), 1695–1732, 1743–1969
Collections etc. 1795–1734
Accounts 1752–1839
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH2/257.


Nonconformist Church Records


A nonconformist church is any church that is not the Established church. Read more about nonconformity in Scotland in the article on the Scotland Church Records Union Lists.

 

There are no known nonconformist groups.

Civil Registration Records

Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Each parish has a registrar's office and large cities have several. The records are created by the registrars and copies are sent to the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Annual indexes are then created for the records for the whole country.

See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.

Probate Records

Manor was under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of Peebles until 1823, and since then has been under the Sheriff's Court of Peebles.  Probate records for 1513- 1901 are indexed online at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk.  You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Peebles and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of Peebles.
The library also has some post-1823 probate records for Peebles.  Look in the librarycatalog
 for the 'Place-names' of Peebles and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'

Read more about Scotland Probate Records.

Return to the Peeblesshire parish list.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Scotland (1846), pp. 225-244. Adapted. Date accessed: 06 February 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:47.
  • This page has been accessed 1,236 times.