Manston, DorsetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes Gotoarrow.png Manston

Contents

Parish History

MANSTON, a parish in Sturminster district, Dorset; on the river Stour, 2 miles ENE of Sturminster-Newton railroad station-Post town, Sturminster-Newton, under Blandford. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Manston, Dorset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
Manston, Dorset Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG
1732-1846
1732-1751
Online Manston, Dorset Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1620
1620
1620
Images
1620-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[3]
1813-1906 Ancestry[4] 1813-1921 Ancestry[5] 1813-1999 Ancestry[6]
Indexes 1724-1837 Joiner[7]


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241342.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web site

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 08 July 2013.
  2. 'Dorset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.
  3. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  5. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  6. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  7. 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 24 June 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 June 2014, at 22:38.
  • This page has been accessed 758 times.