Manthorpe with Londonthorpe, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Manthorpe with Londonthorpe, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Manthorpe with Londonthorpe, Lincolnshire
St+John Manthorpe Lincolnshire.JPG
St+John Manthorpe Lincolnshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Grantham Borough
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Bourne; Grantham
Registration District Grantham
Records begin
Parish registers: Not known; Separate registers exist for Londonthorpe beginning 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: None; Separate records exist for Londonthorpe beginning 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Grantham
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office


Parish History

MANTHORPE, a hamlet, in the parish of Withamon-the-Hill, union of Bourne, wapentake of Beltisloe, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 3¾ miles (S. W. by S.) from the town of Bourne.[1]

Manthorpe is a suburb to the north of Grantham and was in history a village known as Little Gonerby- cum-Manthorpe. The Brownlow family, local landowners, built a road in 1810 joining Grantham to Belton. The parish church of St John the Evangelist was built and  formed into an Ecclesiasatical Parish of Grantham, Lincolnshire Ancient Parish in 1849.

The parish includes Towthorpe and is extensive to the north and west of Grantham and neighbours Great Gonerby, Lincolnshire and Belton (near Grantham), Lincolnshire

There are a number of parishes within Lincolnshire with the same village or hamlet name, Belton is one of these.

Note: See Londonthorpe Parish.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Manthorpe Par 1 and Londonthorpe Par 1 will identify available images.

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street

Enquiries: The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

Search FamilySearch Catalogue Manthorpe with Londonthorpe

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438760.

See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Grantham Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 247-251. Date accessed: 04 September 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 May 2015, at 15:59.
  • This page has been accessed 1,459 times.