Maries County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Maries County

Guide to Maries County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


Maries County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 2, 1855
County Seat Vienna
Courthouse
Address Maries County Courthouse
PO Box 205
Vienna, MO 65582
Phone: 573.422.3388
Maries County Website

Contents

County Courthouse



Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records from 1873,
divorce and court records from 1866, land records
from 1855 and school records from 1911; Probate
Division has probate records from 1880[1]

History

Parent County

1855--Maries County was created 2 March 1855 from Osage and Pulaski Counties. County seat: Vienna [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Neighboring Counties

Phelps County • Pulaski County • Miller County • Osage County • Gasconade County

Maries CountyDent CountyCrawford CountyPhelps CountyPulaski CountyLaclede CountyMorgan CountyMiller CountyCamden CountyMoniteau CountyCallaway CountyCole CountyFranklin CountyGasconade CountyOsage CountyMOMaries.JPG


Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Osage County Historical Society has information on historic places from Gasconade, Maries & Osage Counties including sources and links to historic maps. Also see: Missouri Place Names, 1928-1945. (State Historical Society of Missouri)

Resources

Biographies

Cemeteries

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Maries County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

Maps

Momaries.jpg

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Maries County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
  • 1883 - Maries County Birth Index 1883. Batch C515403 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriages
  • 1881-1885 - Maries County Marriage Book B Index 1881-1885. Batch M515401 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Deaths
  • Missouri State Archives provides on-line access to Missouri Death Certificates more than 50 yrs old starting in 1910.
  • 1883 - Maries County Death Index 1883. Batch B515402 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Historical Society

Historical Society of Maries County
Sharon Wulff, Correspondent
Post Office Box 289
Vienna, Missouri 65582
Email: hsmc1855@gmail.com
Website: http://www.viennamo.com/Historical1.htm

Library

Heartland Regional Library
315 Third Street
Vienna, MO 65582
Phone: (573) 422-9866
Website: http://heartland.lib.mo.us/default.htm

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maries County, Missouri. Page 402 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d8/Igimissourij.pdf.


To see a list of places in Maries County, click on [Show], in the bar above.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 March 2014, at 19:30.
  • This page has been accessed 5,275 times.