Mariposa County, CaliforniaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go toCaliforniago to Mariposa County

Guide to Mariposa County California genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg California
Online Records


Mariposa County, California
Map
Map of California highlighting Mariposa County
Location in the state of California
Map of the U.S. highlighting California
Location of California in the U.S.
Facts
Founded information needed
County Seat Maripose
Courthouse
Mariposa County California Courthouse.jpg
Address Mariposa County Courthouse

5100 Bullion St
PO Box 35
Maripose, CA 95338
Phone:. 209.966.5719
Mariposa County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

 

County Clerk has divorce, probate and court records
County Recorder has birth, marriage, death and burial records[1]

Historical Facts

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Mariposa County, California

Parent County

18 February 1850: Mariposa was created as an original county. County seat: Mariposa[1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Records Loss

For a list of record loss in California counties see: California Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Mariposa County, California census records online, see: California Census.

Church History and Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.

Court

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local histories are available for Mariposa County, California. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Maps

Camariposa.png

Migration

Military History and Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Mariposa County, California newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate

The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.

The Family History Library Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - Mariposa - Probate records.

Repositories

Archives, Libraries and Museums

County Courthouse

Family History Centers

Societies

Taxation

California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.

Vital Records

See also How to order California Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder.

Birth

Notices of vital events (births, marriages, and deaths), 1919-1921, abstracted from the Mariposa Gazette by William Disbro.

Marriage

Notices of vital events (births, marriages, and deaths), 1919-1921, abstracted from the Mariposa Gazette by William Disbro.

Divorce

Death

Notices of vital events (births, marriages, and deaths), 1919-1921, abstracted from the Mariposa Gazette by William Disbro.

Voting Registers

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mariposa County, California. Page 85 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 March 2014, at 21:20.
  • This page has been accessed 3,511 times.