Marlborough St Mary the Virgin, WiltshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  WiltshireGotoarrow.png  Wiltshire Parishes

Marlborough St Mary the Virgin, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Marlborough
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Marlborough PLU
Registration District Marlborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1602
Bishop's Transcripts: 1581
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Marlborough
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Salisbury (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office


Contents

Parish History

MARLBOROUGH comprises the parishes of St. Mary the Virgin, and St. Peter and St. Paul. It is a borough and market-town, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Selkley, Marlborough and Ramsbury. It also includes N. divisions of Wiltshire, 27 miles (N. by E.) from Salisbury, and 75 (W. by S.) from London. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans. [1]

 Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Marlborough St Mary the Virgin parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[6]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[7]
MARLBOROUGH ST MARY THE VIRGIN PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI
1602-1906

IGI 1602-1874 1602-1874, 1877-1894
JOIN
1602-1812

NBI

1602-1812
NIM 1581-1837
1581-1837
1602-1837
TGEN
1602-1812


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464203.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) pp. 257-260 Date accessed: 02 October 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Wiltshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 January 2014.
  4. Wiltshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 September 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 3 November 2013.
  6. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.
  7. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 June 2014, at 21:04.
  • This page has been accessed 528 times.