Marple All Saints,CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Marple All Saints

Contents

Parish History

Marple All Saints is an Ecclesiastical parish created from Stockport St Mary, Cheshire in 1738, formerly a chapelry in that ancient parish

The first church on the site was a small timber framed building erected in the second half of the 16th century. The first recorded service took place in 1588. In 1803 the building was in a ruinous condition and it was decided that a new church should be built. In 1808 Robert Goldsmith was appointed as architect and the church was completed in 1811. A major financial contributor to the building of the church was Samuel Oldknow, a local cotton manufacturer. In 1816 a peal of bells arrived and in 1826 an organ was installed. By the 1870s the church was too small for the congregation and the building was unsuitable for expansion so it was decided that a new church should be built. The new church was built 30m to the south of the old church. J Medland Taylor and Henry Taylor were appointed as architects and the church  was consecrated on 30 June 1880. In the following years some services were still held in the old church but its condition deteriorated and by 1964 it was considered to be dangerous and it was demolished. The tower was strengthened and the bells re-hung in it, making it a free-standing bell-tower.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration Districts
  • Stockport (1837–1937)
  • North East Cheshire (1937–74)
  • Stockport (post 1974)

Registration events can be searched online at Cheshire BMD

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Marple, Cheshire, 1655-1925 Marple is a chapelry in Stockport parish.
Cheshire Record Office reference: P99/1/1-5, P99/2/1-2, P99/3/1-2, P99/4/1-4, P99/6/61-62.

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online in Record Search

Parish Registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1655-1910. Marriages, 1655-1754, 1838-1880. Burials, 1655-1812. BRITISH 2106558 Items 3 - 10
Marriages, 1880-1920. Burials, 1813-1899. Grave inscriptions, section b, plots 1-271, ca. 1814-1967 BRITISH 2106604
Graves inscriptions, section b, plot 272-625, ca. 1846-1964. Graves inscriptions, section a, ca. 1657-1961, in alphabetical order. BRITISH 2106605 Items 1 - 2

Bishop's transcripts for Marple, 1715-1843 Chapelry in Stockport parish.
Cheshire Record Office reference: EDB 143

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s Transcripts is available online in Record Search

Bishop's Transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1715, 1718-1722, 1724-1727, 1729-1755. Baptisms, burials, 1756-1803, 1805-1813, 1815, 1822-1843. Baptisms, 1814. Burials, 1816-1821, 1824. BRITISH 1647520 Item 5
Non-Conformist Churches

Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

For more information on the history of the workhouse, see Peter Higginbotham's web site: www.workhouses.org.uk and http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?Stockport/Stockport.shtml

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Bibliography

Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 228–229

Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. 276, ISBN 0 300 09588 0

[[


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 January 2016, at 03:38.
  • This page has been accessed 906 times.