Marros, Carmarthenshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Marros, Carmarthenshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshire ParishesGotoarrow.pngMarros

A guide to genealogy in Marros, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Marros is a village and ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales. It is in the community of Eglwys Gymyn.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

Contents

History

MARROS, a parish, in the union of NARBERTH, lower division of the hundred of DERLLYS, county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 7 miles (W. by S.) from Laugharne. This parish is situated at the south-western extremity of the county, bordering on the county of Pembroke, and bounded on the south by the shore of Carmarthen bay; the surface is wild and broken, and considerable portions of the land are barren and uncultivated. Marros mountain comprises a large tract of stony sterile ground, and the whole district presents a rugged and dreary aspect. Iron-stone and coal are thought to abound here, but no works have yet been established for procuring these minerals. The coast is composed of a fine sandy beach, a few miles in length, and well-adapted for sea-bathing from the shallowness of the water for a considerable distance from the shore. There are several neat and respectable residences scattered over the lower part of the parish. The church, dedicated to St. Laurence, is not distinguished by any architectiural details.[1]

For more information on Marros see Marros at Genuki.

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464309.


Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 16 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2016, at 04:07.
  • This page has been accessed 898 times.