Marshall County, West VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Marshall County West Virginia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States  Gotoarrow.png  West Virginia  Gotoarrow.png  Marshall County

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/West Virginia_Online_Genealogy_Records West Virginia
Online Records


Marshall County, West Virginia
Map
Map of West Virginia highlighting Marshall County
Location in the state of West Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting West Virginia
Location of West Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 12, 1835
County Seat Moundsville
Courthouse
Marshall County, West Virginia Courthouse.JPG
Address Marshall County Courthouse
7th Street P O Box 459
Moundsville, WV 26041
Phone: 304-845-1220
Marshall County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has birth and death 1853 Marriage and land records from 1835 Probate Records from 1850 Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and land records[1]

History

Parent County

1835--Marshall County was created 12 March 1835 from Ohio County when it was still part of Virginia. It became part of West Virginia in 1863.
County seat: Moundsville [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Record Loss

For a list of record loss in West Virginia counties see: West Virginia Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Wvmarshall.jpg

Cemeteries

People refer to Fork Ridge Cemetery. The problem is that there are actually three cemeteries on Fork Ridge. Fork Ridge Baptist, Fork Ridge Christian and Fork Ridge Universalist. These cemetery are on Fork Ridge Road just out of Moundsville in rural Marshall county West Virginia. USGENWEB Marshall county has great resources for Marshall county cemeteries.

Census

For tips on accessing Marshall County, West Virginia census records online, see: West Virginia Census.

Join us in indexing the 1940 Census


Map of 1850 Virginia and West Virginia


Church

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • McMechen

Court

Directories

Genealogy

  • [Cresap] Cresap, Joseph Ord and Bernarr Cresap. The History of the Cresaps. Revised edition. Gallatin, Tenn.: Cresap Society, 1987. FHL Book 929.273 C863c 1987.

Land

Local Histories

Maps

Map of 1850 Virginia and West Virginia


Military

Revolutionary War
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital versions at U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Western District, Marshall County on page 135.]
Civil War, 1861-1865

Civil War service men from Marshall County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Marshall County.

Union

- 1st Regiment, West Virginia Cavalry
- 1st Regiment, West Virginia Infantry, Companies A, B, C, E, H, and K.
- 1st Regiment, West Virginia Light Artillery, Batteries A, C and D Light Artillery

West Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865

Naturalization

West Virgina, Naturalization Records, 1814-1991

Newspapers

Probate

Marshall County, West Virginia Will Books 1835 - 1916

West Virginia Will Books

Taxation

Online West Virginia Tax site

West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.

Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.

The search for tax information can start here

Vital Records

     There is an index of vital records for Marshall county online at www.marshallcountywv.org/county.asp on the right side of the page under the picture is a link that reads click here to search online for documents on file.  After you get to the search page and put in your request be patient and don't believe the first page that pops up and says This page can not be found.  I have found that many times after you put in your search the first thing that happens is a page pops up that reads This page can not be found and if you just wait the results will show up. Sometimes the wait is a long time. This site has birth, marriage, death, liens, wills, ucc, and deeds. Some are actual images but most are just the dates and other information. If you want the actual image I would suggest going to www.wvculture.org/vrr/va_select.aspx. I would suggest using both web sites (the Marshall county and the West Virginia sites) to search for what you are looking for.

        Also the state of West Virginia has many vital records are online at www.wvculture.org/vrr/va_select.aspx This is a wonderful site because it actually has images of the records. Many times you will get two links for the same person. Check out both links because many times they have a different type of record for the vital event. Of course not all records are available but there are many birth, death and marriage records on these web pages.

Marriage

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of West Virginia Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Web Sites


http://www.cyndislist.com/us/wv


 Learning How to Edit our Wiki Sites

Hands on keyboard.png Genealogy courses: Learn how to research from an expert in Fun Five Minute Genealogy Videos.


References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Marshall County, West Virginia. Page 744 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 April 2014, at 19:07.
  • This page has been accessed 8,194 times.