Marske, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Marske, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Richmond PLU|
|Parish registers: 1594|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1678|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Eastern Deaneries - Richmond|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Marske is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire. Other places in the parish include: Skelton and Feldon.
The Church is dedicated to St Edmund, who was a Saxon King and Saint put to death by the Danes in AD 870. It is known that the bones of St Cuthbert rested in Marske for a time during the period when the monks were protecting them from the Danes who had sacked the abbey at Lindisfarne in AD 793. The saint's bones were later put to rest at Chester-le-Street and finally in Durham Cathedral.
MARSKE, a village, a township, a parish, and a sub-district, in Guisbrough district, N. R. Yorkshire. There are chapels for Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists. The sub-district contains also Upleatham parish, and parts of two other parishes.
The dedicatory name in the following entry is incorrect.
MARSK (St. Cuthbert), a parish, in the union of Richmond, wapentake of Gilling-West, N. riding of York, 4¾ miles (W.) from Richmond. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Marske exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Archive.org|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|MARSKE PARISH (1678) Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464230.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- ↑ John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales1870-72. Date accessed: 22 October 2013.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 263-266. Date accessed: 22 October 2013.
- ↑ 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.
- This page was last modified on 6 February 2015, at 02:23.
- This page has been accessed 1,884 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More