Marston Montgomery, DerbyshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes


Marston Montgomery, Derbyshire
Marston Montgomery St Giles Derbyshire.jpg
Marston Montgomery St Giles Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Appletree
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Uttoxeter PLU
Registration District Uttoxeter
Records begin
Parish registers: 1661
Bishop's Transcripts: 1662
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cubley
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Marston Montgomery St Giles is an Ancient Parish in Derbyshire.

MARSTON-MONTGOMERY (St. Giles), a parish, in the union of Uttoxeter, hundred of Appletree, S. division of the county of Derby, 6¾ miles (S. W. by S.) from Ashbourn. [1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Marston Montgomery parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Marston Montgomery St Giles (1661) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1662-1879
  NONE
1661-1837
  NONE
1663-1912
  NONE

Marston Montgomery St  Giles was possibly a chapelry in Cubley, Derbyshire and entries prior to 1661 should be sought in the Cubley, Derbyshire registers

Derbyshire Record Office reference D 1179 has deposited registers Bap 1661-1877 Mar 1661-1809, 1813-1997 Burials 1661-1955

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1662-1869 Mar 1662-1856 Burials 1662- 1869


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241288.

Poor Law Unions

Uttoxeter Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 266-269. Date accessed: 13 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:07.
  • This page has been accessed 742 times.