Marston Moreteyne, Bedfordshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Bedfordshire Gotoarrow.png Bedfordshire Parishes

Guide to Marston Moreteyne, Bedfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Marston Moreteyne, Bedfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Redbornestoke
County Bedfordshire
Poor Law Union Ampthill
Registration District Ampthill
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Fleete
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Bedford
Location of Archive
Bedfordshire Record Office


Parish History

MARSTON MORETEYNE or Marston-Moretaine, is a village and a parish in Ampthill district, Bedfordshire. The village is 1 mile W of the Bedford and Bletchley railway, and 3½ miles NW of Ampthill. There are chapels for Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Marston Moreteyne, Bedfordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
Marston Moreteyne, Bedfordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1880-1885

FREG 1602-1902
IGI 1602-1875



To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Wesleyans
  • Primitive Methodists
  • Roman Catholic

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241194.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Bedfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Marston Moreteyne on GENUKI


  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales, publ. London & Edinburgh: 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 21 November, 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 April 2014.
  3. 'Bedfordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 April 2014.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Bedfordshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 April 2014.
  5. 'National Burial Index - Bedfordshire Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 17 April 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 October 2015, at 22:35.
  • This page has been accessed 1,620 times.