Martin County, Kentucky GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Martin County, Kentucky)

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Kentucky  Gotoarrow.png  Martin County

Guide to Martin County, Kentucky ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Martin County, Kentucky
Map of Kentucky highlighting Martin County
Location in the state of Kentucky
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kentucky
Location of Kentucky in the U.S.
Founded March 10, 1870
County Seat Inez
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Martin Co. KYGenWeb
Adopt a page today


County Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Martin County, Kentucky Genealogy Government Records
*Many years between 1852 and 1911 are missing
Martin County Courthouse, Inez, Ky. Courtesy: Collection: County Court Houses, Flickr by Jimmy Emerson. Used by permission.

Martin County Courthouse
Main Street
Inez, KY 41224
Phone: 606.298.2810[1]


Parent County

1870--Martin County was created in 1870 from Johnson, Floyd, Pike and Lawrence counties.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the website.

Record Loss

1892--A disaster destroyed most records. For a list of record loss in Kentucky counties see: Kentucky Counties with Burned Courthouses


Populated Places

Beauty Hode McClure Threeforks
Castle Inez Milo Tomahawk
Davella Job Moree Warfield
Davisport Laura Pilgrim West Lovely
Debord Lovely Stidham

Neighboring Counties



African American Research

The following have information concerning African American research.  Both should be used:



Kentucky cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.

  • Find A Grave can be searched by the name of a person or family to find where a person is buried.  Usually gives birth and death dates often with a picture of the tombstone.  May give obituaries, names of family members and links to their information in Find A Grave.
  • Find A Grave also gives a list of cemeteries in Martin County and links to the  information for the individuals buried there,
  • Some of the books or others may be on Google Books or available at public libraries.
  • ePodunk list of Martin County cemeteries gives the names of the cemeteries in the county with a link to more information such as address, phone number, and web site.


Historical populations
Census Pop.
Est. 200811,602−7.8%

For tips on accessing Martin County, Kentucky Genealogy census records online, see: Kentucky Census.


Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.



Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Martin County, Kentucky Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.





Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Martin County, Kentucky Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:



Probate records are held by the Martin County, Kentucky Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Martin County, Kentucky Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Probate Records


Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Martin County, Kentucky Genealogy Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Martin County, Kentucky Genealogy Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records. See also How to order Kentucky Vital Records

  • 1874 - Martin County Birth Index 1874. Batch C518131 at FamilySearch - free.[2]
  • 1875 - Martin County Birth Index 1875. Batch C518132 at FamilySearch - free.[2]
  • 1876-1878 - Martin County Marriage Index 1876-1878. Batch M518133 at FamilySearch - free.[2]

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See [[Introduction to LDS Family History Centers|Family History Center] for more information. Search the [ online FHC director for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites


  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Martin County, Kentucky page 273, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 October 2015, at 21:35.
  • This page has been accessed 15,945 times.