Maryland GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States Maryland
Guide to Maryland ancestry, genealogy, and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records
Welcome to the Maryland page,
the Old Line State
- Maryland State Archives has state and county records, land, probate, vital records, & indexes since 1634.
- Three-fourth of the colonists arrived in bondage as a slave, convict, or indentured servant
- Some MD colonial wills were sent to England or Scotland for probate
|How to Find Information about Maryland Ancestors|
Maryland State Archives · Maryland Historical Society · Maryland Historical Trust Library · Maryland State Law Library · Maryland Genealogical Society · Allehany County Library System Washington Street Library · Baltimore City Archives · Dorchester County Central Public Library · Enoch Pratt Free Library · Frederick County Artz Public Library · Frostburg State University Ort Library · Johns Hopkins University George Peabody Library · Talbot County Free Library · University of Maryland McKeldin Library · Washington County Free Library · Pennsylvania State Archives · Historical Society of Pennsylvania · Library of Congress DC · National Archives and Records Administration (Archives I) DC · National Archives at College Park, Maryland (Archives II) · National Archives at Philadelphia PA
Bank Road · Braddock's Road · Chesapeake and Ohio Canal · Fall Line Road · Gist's Trace · Memacolinis Path · Great Indian Warpath · Great Valley Road · King's Highway · Maryland Road · National Road · Cumberland Road · Old Northwestern Turnpike · Baltimore and Harrisburg Railway · Baltimore and Ohio Railroad · Atlantic Coast Ports · Potomac River · Southern Road
Did you know?
- Want to locate an historic place in Maryland such as learning which county a town was in? Fisher's 1852 Gazetteer of the State of Maryland is on Google Books.
- Maryland Genealogy (located on Sailor: Maryland's Public Information Network)
- The websites of any Maryland county association (such as a county genealogical society) are listed on the county pages linked above.
Wiki articles describing online collections are found at:
- Maryland Births and Christenings (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Maryland Deaths and Burials (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Maryland Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Maryland, Naturalization Indexes (FamilySearch HIstorical Records)
- Maryland, Naturalization Petitions (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Maryland, Probate Estate and Guardianship Files (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Maryland, Register of Wills Books (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Obtain additional help
Things you can do
Below list some of the many tasks you can help with:
To add your knowledge and help expand the wiki click here:
- This page was last modified on 14 September 2015, at 02:28.
- This page has been accessed 82,374 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News