Maryland, United States, Births, 1900-PresentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Maryland, United States, Births 1900-Present

Contents

1. The Basics on How to Search for Ancestors in the United States

While there is no set way to do research in the United States, this guide gives basic research steps and an explanation of the records.

The following list of suggested records is given in an order likely to help many people.

What you are looking for
An understanding of the research process and how to use the suggested list of records to search.

2. United States Previous Research, Part 1

Previous research is the work other people have done. By searching what others have already done, you may save hours. However, previous research is only as good as the skills of the person doing the research. Therefore, you should double check the information in previous research.

What you are looking for
Information about your ancestors compiled by other people.

Why go to the next record
Any of the following records may:

  • Have the information you are looking for.
    * Add information to what you have found.
    * Clear up differences found in previous searches.


If you find new information, you may want to again look at the records you searched before.

3. Birth Record: Vital records

Birth and death records contain information given by family members to hospitals, physicians, midwives, or coroners, who filed the records with town or county clerks. The record usually gives the person's name, date and place of birth or death, parent's names, and may give the place of birth of the parents. Death records may give name of spouse, age, place of death and burial, and name of undertaker.

Birth and death records may be from towns, counties, or states.

What you are looking for
Your ancestor's birth record recorded by the government.

Why go to the next record
Population schedules give a "snapshot" of your ancestor's family on the census day and indicate where they were living.

4. Census Population Schedule: Census

Census population schedules are useful in finding the town and county where an ancestor lived. They list people who lived in each house in every town and county when the federal census was taken (every 10 years, starting in 1790). Censuses from 1850 to 1920 give at least the name, age, and state (or country) of birth for every person in the house. Earlier censuses (1790 to 1840) give the name of the head of household, plus age categories for all the males and females in that house. Censuses show neighbors, who often are relatives.

Federal census records are available for states and for the country.

What you are looking for
Your ancestor's name on a population schedule.

Why go to the next record
The Social Security Death Index is a fast, easy-to-use source of birth and death information.

5. United States Social Security Death Index and Application Files

The Social Security Death Index contains information about people who died from about 1962 through the present. The index provides birth and death dates, the person's last place of residence, the place where the death payment was sent, the state where the person lived when issued a social security number, and the social security number. The files for Social Security started in 1937 and give more information than the index, including parents' names and dates and places of birth and death.

What you are looking for

  • Your ancestor's name in the Social Security Death Index.
    * Your ancestor's Social Security file.

Why go to the next record
Death records often give birth information, which may not be recorded elsewhere.

6. Death Record: Vital records

Birth and death records contain information given by family members to hospitals, physicians, midwives, or coroners, who filed the records with town or county clerks. The record usually gives the person's name, date and place of birth or death, parent's names, and may give the place of birth of the parents. Death records may give name of spouse, age, place of death and burial, and name of undertaker.

Birth and death records may be from towns, counties, or states.

What you are looking for

  • Your ancestor's death record kept by the government.
    * Death records of your ancestor's children.

Why go to the next record
Tombstone and sexton records often have birth information.

7. Tombstone and Sexton Records: Cemeteries

Tombstone and sexton records contain information from tombstones or from records kept by the sexton of the cemetery. They usually give the ancestor's name, birth date, and death date. They may include the birthplace and date, name of spouse, names of children, and names of other relatives.

There are tombstone and sexton records for towns, counties, states, and the country.

What you are looking for

  • Your ancestor's tombstone inscription.
    * Your ancestor's name in the sexton records.

Why go to the next record
Baptisms are alternatives to birth records. In many religions, children were generally baptized within a few days of birth and usually near the place they were born.

8. Church Baptisms, Marriages, Burials, Minutes, etc.: Church records

Church records usually include baptisms, marriages, burials, and minutes. Baptism records usually give the name of the child, parents' names, and date and place of baptism. Marriage records usually give the names of the bride and groom, witnesses, and the date and place of the marriage. Burial records usually give the name and age of the deceased person, with the date and place of burial or death. The name of the spouse may be listed, and for young children, the names of the parents may be given. Church minutes have a variety of information, including lists of members in various years.

Church records were kept in towns or counties by the minister or clerk of a congregation.

What you are looking for
A church record of your ancestor's baptism.

Why go to the next record
Obituaries often give a short biography of a person's life, including birth date, birthplace, and parents.

9. Obituary: Obituaries

Obituaries (death notices with some biographical information) are written by family members and published in local newspapers. They usually give the name of the deceased; residence; age; dates and places of birth, marriage, and death; name of spouse; and maiden and married surnames of women. Obituaries may give the names of parents, names of children with their residences, names of children's spouses, place of burial, name of undertaker, cause of death, previous residences, occupation, military service, immigration information, religion, membership in organizations, and a photograph.

Obituaries are found in newspapers for towns and cities.

What you are looking for

  • An obituary for your ancestor in a book of obituaries.
    * An obituary in a newspaper where and when your ancestor died.

Why go to the next record
Marriage records often give a person's age, which can be used to calculate a date of birth. They may give birth dates and places.

10. Marriage Record: Vital records

Marriage records contain information about a person's marriage. Different types of marriage records exist, and each can give slightly different information. Marriage returns may only give the names of the bride and groom, the date and place of marriage, and the name of the person who performed the marriage. The minister, justice of the peace, or other authority reported the marriage to the town or county clerk. Marriage licenses or applications were filed with town or county clerks by the bride and groom before marriage. They give additional information, such as ages, birthplaces, names of parents, and current residences. Witnesses' names are sometimes given, and they may be relatives or close friends.

Marriage records are kept by the clerks of the town or county where the marriage occurred, usually where the bride lived.

What you are looking for
A marriage record for your ancestor recorded by the government.

Why go to the next record
Funeral home records are often good sources of biographical and family information.

11. Funeral Home Records: Funeral homes

Funeral homes (mortuaries) assist family members with funeral services, burials, obituaries, and other needs. The records usually give the full name of the deceased (including maiden names of women), date and place of death, place of last residence, name of spouse, and name and location of the cemetery where the person is buried. They may also give names of parents, and surviving family members with their residences, and the date and place of the birth and marriage of the deceased. Obituaries, biographies, and the death certificate may also be included in mortuary records.

A funeral home is a business in a town, and each keeps its own records. When a funeral home changes ownership, the old records usually stay with the business.

What you are looking for
Records from a funeral home about your ancestor.

Why go to the next record
If your ancestor was an immigrant, check citizenship records. Before1906, citizenship records usually only give clues about a person's birth, such as country of origin.

Citizenship records after about 1906 often give birth date and place.

12. Naturalization Record: Naturalization and citizenship

Citizenship records may give the name, age, country of birth, ethnic background, date and port of arrival, name of the ship, previous residences, or current address. Each of the various types of records created during the citizenship process can give different details about the person.

Records for earlier years usually contain less information than those after 1906, when the names, birth dates, and birth places of the spouse and children are given.

Citizenship records are found in town, county, state, and federal court records.

What you are looking for
Your ancestor's declaration of intent, petition, and/or naturalization record.

Why go to the next record
Newspapers often give announcements of births, which may include parents, birth date, and birthplace.

13. Newspapers: Newspapers

Local newspapers report local, regional, national, and global news. They also include notices of births, marriages, deaths, obituaries, etc. To find newspapers, you need to know the place and an approximate date of an event. Check newspapers from a week or two before or after a wedding, funeral, or wedding anniversary to find mention of out-of-town visitors and relatives.

There are newspapers for towns and cities.

What you are looking for
A newspaper covering the area where your ancestor lived when he or she lived there.

Why go to the next record
Town and county histories often give short biographies of the first settlers and people in the area when the histories were written. State histories often give biographies of prominent men.

14. History: History

Histories tell of the events in a community or larger area. Effective family research requires some understanding of the historical events that may have affected your family and the records dealing with them. Learning about governments, laws, wars, migrations, and religious trends may help you understand political boundaries, family movements, and settlement patterns. These events may have led to the creation of records in which your family was listed, such as land and military documents.

Histories often contain biographical sketches about individuals and their families. They may include birth, marriage, and death information.

There are histories for towns, counties, regions, and states.

What you are looking for
A history of the town or county where your ancestor lived.

Why go to the next record
A magazine may have an article about your family or copies of the records you need, such as church and cemetery records.

15. Genealogical and Historical Magazines: Periodicals

Genealogical and historical magazines often publish such information as: family histories, obituaries, newspaper notices, church, cemetery, land, probate, tax, military, and naturalization records. Historical magazines may contain biographies and histories of towns, ethnic groups, organizations, industries, historical events, political campaigns, military activities, etc.

There are genealogical and historical magazines for cities, counties, regions, states, and the country.

What you are looking for

  • An article about your ancestor.
    * An article about your ancestor's relatives.
    * An article about the town or county where your ancestor lived.
    * An article with records for the town or county where your ancestor lived.

Why go to the next record
A collection often gathers information from many sources. Some of these sources may no longer be available or would be difficult to find.

16. Genealogical Collections: Genealogy

Genealogical collections usually give information about families and may include several generations. They usually give the names, and birth, marriage, and death dates and places for the husband and wife, the children, and possibly siblings and parents.

There are genealogical collections for towns, counties, states, and the country.

What you are looking for

  • A collection about your ancestor's family, relations, or friends.
    * A collection with records from the place where your ancestor lived.

Why go to the next record
If your ancestor came to the United States by ship or train, birth and family information may be found in passenger lists and border crossings.

17. Passenger Lists and Border Crossings: Emigration and immigration

Passenger lists record individuals arriving in the United States by ship. Before 1820, few records were kept, and most of them are indexed in the Passenger and Immigration Lists Index. Federal records began in 1820 and usually give the name, age, and sex of each passenger, country of origin, occupation, date and port of departure, date and port of arrival in the United States, and the name of the ship and captain. After 1893 they often give the person's last city of residence overseas. After 1 July 1907 they usually give the city and country of birth, name and address of nearest relative in the home country, and if they are going to join a relative in the United States, the name and address of the person.

Between the United States and Canada, border crossing lists began in 1895. They listed people who crossed the border on trains, plus ship passengers arriving in Canada who said they were going to the United States. They usually give the name and birthplace of each person, port and date of entry, last residence and name of nearest relative there, and previous visits to the United States.

There are passenger lists for towns, states, and the country. There are border crossing lists for the countries.

What you are looking for
Your ancestor's name on a passenger or border crossing list.

Why go to the next record
This is not a complete list of all records you could search. If you did not find what you need, check the Family History Library Catalog - Place Search or archives and libraries for the area where your ancestor lived for other records which may have information about your ancestors.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 December 2009, at 22:35.
  • This page has been accessed 582 times.