Masham, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Masham, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Bedale|
|Registration District||Bedale; Leyburn|
|Parish registers: 1599|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1742|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of Masham|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Masham St Mary is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire. Other places in the parish include: Burton upon Ure, Swinton with Warthermask and Roomer, Ellenstring, Ellingstons, Ellingstring, Fearby, Healey and Sutton, Healey with Sutton, Healey with Suttons, High Ellington, Ilton, Ilton cum Pott, Ilton with Pott, Low Ellington, Masham Moor, Nether Ellington, Nutwith and Roomer Common, Over Ellington, Pott, Roomer, Swinton, Swinton with Warthermarske, Swinton with Warthermask, Swinton with Warthermaske, and Burton upon Yore.
MASHAM (St. Mary), a market-town and parish, in the union of Bedale, wapentake of Hang-East, N.riding of York; containing, with the townships of Burton-upon-Ure, Ellingstring, Nether and Over Ellington, Fearby, Healey with Sutton, Ilton with Pott, Masham, and Swinton with Warthermask. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends,and Wesleyans. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Masham exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|MASHAM PARISH (1599) Online Records|
|| 1762, 1763, 1813
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464231.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 14 May 2015, at 17:31.
- This page has been accessed 3,973 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News