Matching, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Matching, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes

Guide to Matching, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Matching, Essex
St Mary Matching, Essex .jpg
St Mary Matching, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Harlow
County Essex
Poor Law Union Epping PLU
Registration District Epping
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Harlow
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Matching (St Mary the Virgin), is a village and a parish in Epping district, Essex. The village is 3¾ miles E of Harlow railway station, and 8 miles NE of Epping. The parish also contains the hamlet of Ovesham; and has a post office by the name of Matching-Green, under Harlow.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Matching, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Matching, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1559-1914
1588-1957
1558-1877
FSPRs Undefined
Undefined
Undefined
Non-Conformist Churches

Independent/Congregational

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241368.


Poor Law Unions

Epping Poor Law Union, Essex

Church House, Matching Green, recorded in 1668, was said in 1768 to have been given for the repair of the church. In the 18th century it was the Cock alehouse, the rent of which was often applied to poor relief. ) It still belonged to the church in 1843. In 1981 it was a private house, Lone Pine Cottage. [4]

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Matching on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870). Adapted: date accessed 19 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 10 September 2014.
  3. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.
  4. From: 'Parishes: Matching', A History of the County of Essex: Volume 8 (1983), pp. 196-206. British History Date accessed: 26 January 2011.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2015, at 17:54.
  • This page has been accessed 3,418 times.