Matlock Bath, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Matlock Bath, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Matlock Bath, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Matlock Bath, Derbyshire
Matlock Bath - Holy Trinity Church - geograph org uk - 822229.jpg
Matlock Bath - Holy Trinity Church - geograph org uk - 822229
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wirksworth
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Bakewell
Registration District Bakewell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1842
Bishop's Transcripts: 1842
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ashover
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office


Parish History

Matlock Bath Holy Trinity is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Derbyshire, created in 1842 from Matlock, Derbyshire Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Scarthin Nick.

MATLOCK (St. Giles), a parish, in the union of Bakewell, hundred of Wirksworth, S. division of the county of Derby, 17½ miles (N. by W.) from Derby. This place, which was formerly called Mesterford or Metesford, and consists at present of the village and the baths. A district church, dedicated to the Holy Trinity, was erected at Matlock-Bath in 1842. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Matlock Bath parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Matlock Bath Holy Trinity (1842) Parish Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241299.

Poor Law Unions

Bakewell Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Matlock Bath (see Matlock) on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 271-277. Date accessed: 13 May 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2015, at 13:20.
  • This page has been accessed 1,522 times.