Mawgan in Menage, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  CornwallGotoarrow.png  Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Mawgan in Menage, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Contents

Parish History

MAWGAN-in-Meneage (St. Mawgan), a parish, in the union of Helston, W. division of the hundred of Kerrier and of the county of Cornwall, 4 miles (E. S. E.) from Helston. Here are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans. [1]




General overview


Resources

Civil Registration


Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.


Church records

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
Mawgan in Menage, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1559-1859 1563-1837 1690-1837
FS PRs 1559-1902 1559-1907 1559-1900
IGI 1559-1875


Images of parish registers are available online in historic records (formerly Record Search) Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 140

Due to incorrect waypoints and image loading some images appear in St Martin in Meneage, Cornwall way points in error and await correction by engineers

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241261.

Probate records


Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites

Add here any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 277-280. Date accessed: 06 March 2013.
  2. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
  3. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  5. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 November 2013.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 May 2014, at 22:09.
  • This page has been accessed 692 times.