McDuffie County, Georgia GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from McDuffie County, Georgia)

United States go to Georgia go to McDuffie County

Guide to McDuffie County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


McDuffie County, Georgia
Map of Georgia highlighting McDuffie County
Location in the state of Georgia
Founded October 18, 1870
County Seat Thomson
Address McDuffie County Courthouse
337 Main Street
PO Box 158
Thomson, GA 30824-0028
Phone: 706.595.2134
McDuffie County Website


County Courthouse

McDuffie County Courthouse
337 Main Street
PO Box 158
Thomson, GA 30824-0028
Phone: 706.595.2134

Probate Court has birth, marriage, death and probate records from 1872; Clerk Superior Court has divorce from 1872, court and land records from 1870.[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
210 Railroad Street
P.O. Box 158
Thomson, GA 30824
Phone: (706) 595-2134
Fax: (706) 595-9150

Probate Court of McDuffie County
P.O. Box 2028
Thomson, GA 30824
Phone: 7(06) 595-2124

Beginning Dates for McDuffie County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate



Parent County

1870--McDuffie County was created 18 October 1870 from Columbia and Warren Counties.
County seat:  Thomson [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

No reported loss or damage.[3]


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Columbia County  • Jefferson County  • Lincoln County  • Richmond County  • Warren County  • Wilkes County

McDuffie CountyRichmond CountyColumbia CountyLincoln CountyWilkes CountyWarren CountyTaliaferro CountyOglethorpe CountyGreene CountyPutnam CountyBaldwin CountyHancock CountyWashington CountyGlascock CountyJefferson CountyScreven CountyBurke CountyMcCormick CountyEdgefield CountyAiken CountyOrangeburg CountyLexington CountyBarnwell CountyAllendale CountyGAMcDuffie.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records



Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

  • Quaker Records (Baptisms, Births, Marriages, Deaths) from Wrightsboro Meeting House, Thomson, Georgia Georgia Pioneers



Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for McDuffie County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.




Civil War

Regiments. Service men in McDuffie County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in McDuffie County, Georgia Genealogy:

  • Baker, Pearl. 1971. A handbook of history: McDuffie County, Georgia, 1870-1970. [Thomson, Ga.]: Progress-News Pub. Co.  (page 19-23)  975.8632 H2b
  • McCommons, Leila Boswell, and Clara Stovall. 1960. History of McDuffie County, Georgia, 1870-1933. [S.l.]: Mann Film Laboratories. film 220524
  • Georgia. Court of Ordinary (McDuffie County). 1960. Pension rolls, 1890-1938. [S.l.]: Mann Film Laboratories. film 220517



Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as McDuffie County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).


Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Marriage Records

1828 - 1978 Georgia Marriage Records from Select Counties 1828-1978 at — index and images $ 1699 - 1944 Georgia Marriages 1699-1944 at— index $

  • 1870-1876 - McDuffie County Marriage Books 1 and 2 Index 1870-1876. Batch M713291 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1877-1895 - McDuffie County Marriage Books 3 and 4 Index 1877-1895. Batch M713292 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Death Records

1919 - 1998 Georgia Deaths 1919-1998 at — index $

Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Wrightsboro Foundation
PO Box 1816,
Thomson, GA 30824-5816

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.



  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), McDuffie County, Georgia. Page 158 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 41-42. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. 4.0 4.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 September 2015, at 03:18.
  • This page has been accessed 9,315 times.