Mecklenburg County, Virginia GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Mecklenburg County Virginia ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.
|Mecklenburg County, Virginia|
Location in the state of Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
Mecklenburg County, Virginia Courthouse
Mecklenburg County Courthouse
P.O. Box 530
Boydton, VA 23917-0530
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, probate, land and court records
Mecklenburg County, Virginia History
For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Loose papers before 1793 are missing. Bound volumes of deeds, orders, and wills still exist.
- Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1810, 1890
For a list of record loss in Virginia counties see: Virginia Counties with Burned Courthouses.
For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
Mecklenburg County, Virginia Places/Localities
Mecklenburg County, Virginia Genealogy Resources
In 1860, Mecklenburg County had one of the largest slave population in the state (12,420 slaves). Ten years later in 1870, it had one of the largest African American populations in Virginia (14,156).
- Heinegg, Paul. "Mecklenburg County Personal Property Tax List, 1782-1820," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
- List of Colored Voters Registered at Pearsons Store Precinct in Palmers Springs Magisterial District, Mecklenburg Co., Va. Original records, Library of Virginia, Richmond, Va.; available on microfilm at FHL. [No registration years is identified on the FamilySearch Catalog.]
Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:
- Virginia Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007 - browse collection at FamilySearch; free.
Additional Bible records include:
- Tombstone Transcription Project - Cemetery transcriptions - USGenWeb
For tips on accessing Mecklenburg County, Virginia Genealogy census records online, see: Virginia Census.
- Mecklenburg County Heads of Families - 1782 at U.S. Census Bureau - free. County begins on page 32.
1790 - Lost, but a subsitute is available, see Taxation.
1800 - Lost, but a subsitute is available, see Taxation.
1810 - Lost, but a subsitute is available, see Taxation.
1890 Union Veterans
- Turner, Ronald Ray. Virginia's Union Veterans: Eleventh Census of the United States 1890. Available online, courtesy: Prince William County Virginia website. [Includes residents of this county.]
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):
- Allen's Creek (1791)
- Blue Stone (1772)
- Buffaloe (1778)
- Maloane's or Geneto (1773)
- Wilson's (1799)
The 10,000 name petition (dated 16 October 1776) has been digitized at the Library of Congress website. It was signed by people from all over Virginia who wanted an end to persecution of Baptists by the Established Church. Baptists and Baptist sympathizers alike signed the petition. To find your ancestor in this record, first check Hall's transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy (Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39), which is available online at Ancestry ($). It is also available in book form at the Family History Library: FHL Book 975.5 B2vs v. 35-39. Then proceed to the Library of Congress website to see the original images.
Mecklenburg County fell within the bounds of the Meherrin Association and the Roanoke Association.
Church of England
See also St. James Parish
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):
More than 150 genealogies have been published about Mecklenburg County families. To view a list, visit Mecklenburg County, Virginia Compiled Genealogies.
- List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Mecklenburg County, Virginia Genealogy (work in progress), courtesy: Immigrant Servants Database.
Land and Property
Grants and Patents
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.
- Hudgins. 779 patents dated 1722-1819 in what is now Mecklenburg County, Virginia placed on a map. DeedMapper, 2002. [Names of those who received land patents, dates, land descriptions, and references may be viewed free of charge (click "Index" next to the county listing); however, in order to view the maps, it is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper product.]
- 1870 Map of Mecklenburg County, Virginia. Includes creeks, roads, churches, landowners, and landmarks.
- Clay, Robert Y. "Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 20, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1976):199-208; Vol. 22, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1978):43-50. Available at FHL; digital version at New England Ancestors ($). [These records identify migrants who left the county and often their intended destinations. Mecklenburg County's 1787-1788 Delinquent Lists appear on 20:204-207; 1788-1789 Delinquent Lists appear on 22:46-50.]
- Elliott, Katherine B. Emigration to Other States from Southside Virginia. 2 vols. South Hill, Virginia: K.B. Elliott, 1966. Vol. 1 of original edition available at FHL; 1983 reprints (both volumes) available at FHL; 1990-1992 reprints (both volumes) also available at FHL. [Includes individuals who migrated out of Mecklenburg County to other parts of the country.]
Bell published records of Mecklenburg County residents who migrated to South Carolina:
- Bell, Mary McCampbell. "Some Migrations from Virginia to South Carolina," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 10, No. 3 (Summer 1982):136-143. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 10
French and Indian War
- Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. FHL Collection. [Identifies some Mecklenburg County militia officers and veterans; see place name index.]
Regiments. Service men in Mecklenburg County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Mecklenburg County supplied soldiers for the:
- Elliott, Katherine B. Revolutionary War Records, Mecklenburg County, Virginia. Easley, South Carolina: Southern Historical Press, 1983. Available at FHL.
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital versions at U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Eastern District, Mecklenburg County on page 132.]
- Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Collection 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes veterans from this county; Virginia section begins on page 238.]
War of 1812
Mecklenburg County men served in the 22nd and 98th Regiments.
- Douthat, James L. Roster of War of 1812, Southside, Virginia. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 2007. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press website. FHL Collection 975.5 M2djL. [Includes Mecklenburg County.]
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Mecklenburgh County [sic], p. 90. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]
Regiments. Service men in Mecklenburg County, Virginia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Mecklenburg County, Virginia Genealogy:
- - 3rd Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company A (Boydton Cavalry or Mecklenburg Dragoons).
- - 14th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company E (Clarksville Blues) and Company F (Chambliss Grays).
- - 21st Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company C (Oliver Grays).
- - 34th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company B (Mecklenburg Heavy Artillery).
- - 38th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Pittsylvania Regiment) (Confederate). Company G (Mecklenburg Rifles) and 1st Company I (Confederate Guards).
- - 56th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Companies A (Mecklenburg Guards) and B (Mecklenburg Spartans).
Records and histories are available, including:
- Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers 1861-1865
- Virginia, Service Records of Union Soldiers 1861-1865
Virginia Naturalization Petitions, 1906-1929
The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Mecklenburg County, Virginia Genealogy newspapers.
Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.
- 1893 - Midland Express (Boydton, Va.) at Genealogy Bank ($).
- Cutten, George Barton. The Silversmiths of Virginia (together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. Richmond, Va.: The Dietz Press, Incorporated, 1952. Available at FHL. [Includes a section on Mecklenburg County silversmiths.]
- Bolten, Joseph S. Will of William Davis, Lunenburg County, Va. 1964. Available at FHL. [Davis's will was proved in Mecklenburg County.]
- 1765-1948 - Index to Wills Index Transcription Project 1765-1948 (VAGenWeb) - free.
- 1765-1782 - Digital Images of Mecklenburg County Wills 1765-1782. See names of testators. Virginia Pioneers
- 1782-1798 - Digital Images of Mecklenburg County Wills 1782-1788; 1788-1798. See names of testators. Virginia Pioneers
'Online Probate Links
- 1639 – 1850 Virginia Land, Marriage and Probate Records 1639-1850 at Ancestry.com — index to transcribed records, incomplete, $
- [1782-1820] Heinegg, Paul. "Mecklenburg County Personal Property Tax List, 1782-1820," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
- [1782-1783] Mecklenburg County 1782 & 1783 Tax List. Purchase at Simmons Historical Bookstore.
-  Sheriff's Tax Land Sales, 1784, Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 33, No. 4 (Oct. 1989). Available at FHL.
-  Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. Available at FHL. [The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Mecklenburg County is included in Vol. 1.]
- [1787-1789] Clay, Robert Y. "Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 20, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1976):199-208; Vol. 22, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1978):43-50. Available at FHL; digital version at New England Ancestors ($). [These records identify migrants who left the county and often their intended destinations. Mecklenburg County's 1787-1788 Delinquent Lists appear on 20:204-207; 1788-1789 Delinquent Lists appear on 22:46-50.]
- [1790, 1799] Indexed images of the 1790 and 1799 Personal Property Tax Lists of Mecklenburg County, Virginia are indexed online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
- [1789, 1799] Indexed images of the 1789 and 1799 Land Tax Lists of Mecklenburg County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
-  Tax List, 1800, Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 40, No. 1 (Jan. 1996); Vol. 40, No. 2 (Apr. 1996); Vol. 40, No. 3 (Jul. 1996); Vol. 40, No. 4 (Oct. 1996); Vol. 41, No. 1 (Jan. 1997); Vol. 41, No. 2 (Apr. 1997). Available at FHL.
-  Schreiner-Yates, Netti. A Supplement to the 1810 Census of Virginia: Tax Lists of the Counties for which the Census is Missing. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1971. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1810 personal property tax list. Mecklenburg County is included because the 1810 Census for that county has been destroyed.]
-  Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Mecklenburg County is included in Vol. 2.]
Indexes to Mecklenburg County, Virginia Genealogy births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch - free. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records
- Fridley, Beth. Mecklenburg County Virginia Birth Records, 1866-85 [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: The Generations Network, Inc., 2001. Available at Ancestry ($).
- 1660-1800 - Virginia Marriages 1660-1800 (Ancestry) ($).
- 1740-1850 - Virginia Marriages 1740-1850 (Ancestry) ($).
- 1765-1810 - Nottingham, Stratton. Marriage License Bonds of Mecklenburg County, Virginia from 1765 to 1810. Onancock, VA, USA: Stratton Nottingham, 1928. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($); and World Vital Records ($).
- 1854-1929 - Mecklenburg County Marriage Index 1854-1929. Batch M868783 at FamilySearch - free.
Vital Record Substitutes
The Virginia Historical Society's Marriage and Obituary Index, 1736-1820 (newspaper abstracts) is available for free online. Images of the original index cards are browseable, arranged alphabetically by surname.
|For birth, marriage, and death record substitutes, see Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records.|
Mecklenburg County, Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Library of Virginia: (Virginia State Archives)
Virginia Memory Collection is part of Library of Virginia's website. It contains digitized collections of chanceries, newspapers, photo collections etc.:
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
Mecklenburg County, Virginia Genealogy Websites
- Mecklenburg Co., VAGenWeb. Part of the USGenWeb Project. Maps, name indexes, history.
- Mecklenburg County, VA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Familytree101)
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Virginia Pioneers ($)
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mecklenburg County, Virginia. Page 717 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... (Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883), 90. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive.
- ↑ Lost Records Localities: Counties and Cities with Missing Records, 5, in Library of Virginia (accessed 4 April 2014).
- ↑ Ninth Census of the United States: Statistics of Population, Tables I to VIII Inclusive (Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1872), 70. Digital version at Internet Archive; FHL Book 973 X2pcu.
- ↑ 6.0 6.1 6.2 6.3 6.4 Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 287, 303-304. Digital version at Google Books.
- ↑ William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
- ↑ 8.0 8.1 Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
- ↑ J.T. McAllister, Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War: McAllister's Data (Hot Springs, Va.: McAllister Pub. Co., 1913), 37. Digitized by Internet Archive.
- ↑ Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 137. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
- ↑ Thomas P. Nanzig, 3rd Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 61.
- ↑ Edward R. Crews and Timothy A. Parish, 14th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1995). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 117.
- ↑ Susan A. Riggs, 21st Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1991). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 72.
- ↑ Johnny L. Scott, 34th Virginia Infantry (Appomattox, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1999). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 135.
- ↑ G. Howard Gregory, 38th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 46.
- ↑ William A. Young Jr. and Patricia C. Young, 56th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 63.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.
- This page was last modified on 24 November 2015, at 16:05.
- This page has been accessed 73,321 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News