Melbourne, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Melbourne, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Melbourne, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Melbourne, Derbyshire
Melbourne St Michael with St Mary Derbyshire.jpg
Melbourne St Michael with St Mary Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Repton and Gresley
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Shardlow
Registration District Shardlow
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1662
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stanton by Bridge
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office


Parish History

Melbourne St Michael with St Mary is an Ancient Parish; other places in the parish include Kings Newton.

MELBOURNE (St. Michael), a small town and a parish, in the union of Shardlow, hundred of Repton and Gresley, S. division of the county of Derby, 8 miles (S. S. E.) from Derby. There are places of worship for General Baptists, Independents, Wesleyans, and Swedenborgians. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Shardlow registration District GRO volumes : XIX (1837-51); 7b (1852-1946); 3A (1946-74).

Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.

Church records

Melbourne parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Melbourne St Michael (1653) Parish Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1900-1912   NONE

Melbourne St Michael with St Mary  includes the hamlet of Kings Newton and Derby Hills, Derbyshire which was previously extra parochial.

Derbyshire Record Office reference D 655 has deposited registers Bap 1652-1965 Mar 1653-1986 Burials 1653-1914 Banns 1754-1775,1824-1972

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Countess of Huntingdon Methodist
  • General Baptist
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Swedenborgian/New Jerusalem/New Church
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241295.

Poor Law Unions

Shardlow Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Melbourne on GENUKI


  1. Lewis, Samuel A,. A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 283-287. Date accessed: 13 May 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2015, at 13:20.
  • This page has been accessed 2,368 times.