Melbury Abbas, Dorset GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Melbury Abbas, Dorset)

England Gotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes

Guide to Melbury Abbas, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Melbury Abbas, Dorset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Sixpenny-Handley
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Shaftesbury PLU
Registration District Shaftsbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1716
Bishop's Transcripts: 1732
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shaftesbury
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MELBURY-ABBAS, a parish in Shaftesbury district, Dorset; adjacent to Wilts, 2¼ miles SSE of Shaftesbury, and 5 S by E of Semley railroad station.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Melbury Abbas, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1710
1710
1710
Images
1710-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1906 Ancestry[3] 1813-1921 Ancestry[4] 1813-1989 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1731-1837 Joiner[6]

Melbury Abbas, Dorset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
Melbury Abbas, Dorset Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1731-1836
1731-1848
1731-1880

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241341.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 08 July 2103.
  2. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  5. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  6. 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 24 June 2012.
  7. 'Dorset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 June 2015, at 16:20.
  • This page has been accessed 1,516 times.