Meldal, Sør-Trøndelag, Norway GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Meldal, Norway)

Europe Gotoarrow.png Norway Gotoarrow.pngSør-Trøndelag County Gotoarrow.pngMeldal

Guide to Meldal, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records

Contents

Church Records

Meldal clerical district contains parish registers from the parishes Meldal with Pladsen and Grutsæter chapels and included Rennebu until 1862. Pladsen and Grutsæter chapels were discontinued in 1806. See book 17 in the Nidaros Domkirke (Cathedral) church parish for some confirmations. Rennebu parish became its own clerical district in 1862. The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1682-1928.

Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet:

Meldal: 1682-1698, 1705-1939

Meldal / Meldal: 1816-1829, 1861-1928

Meldal / Rennebu: 1775-1783, 1795-1807, 1816-1861

Census Records

  • Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666. The 1664-1666 clerical census for Meldal clerical district includes the parishes of Meldal and Rennebu and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available in a scanned format online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) as well as in a searchable index.
  • Fogdernes og sorenskrivernes manntall 1664-1666. The 1664-1666 civil census for Meldal clerical district includes the parishes of Meldal and Rennebu and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available online in a scanned format at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  • Manntall 1701: The 1701 census for Meldal clerical district includes the parishes of Meldal and Rennebu and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available online in a scanned format at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  • Manntallet 1769 for Rennebu Sokn in Meldal Præstegield. The 1769 census for Rennebu in Meldal clerical district is available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  • Folketelling 1 Feb 1801, Norge. The 1801 census for Meldal clerical district includes the parishes of Melda and Rennebu and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  • Folketelling 1815, 1825, og 1835, Meldal prestegjeld (Sør-Trøndelag). The 1815, 1825, 1865 census for Meldal clerical district includes the parishes of Meldal and Rennebu and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.
  • Folketælling for kongeriget Norge den 31te December 1875. The 1875 census for Meldal is available on microfilm at the Family History Library

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Farm Names

115 Aa 139 Aagjerdet 37 Aamot 168 Agholt 114 Baagaavold 117 Baagaavoldsæteren 195 Baardshaugslettet 72 Bakken 67 Berg 206 Bjørkhaugen 14 Bjørset 199 Blakstad 198 Blakstadli 180 Blokkan 56 Blomli eller Sverkli 80 Brekken 42 Buan 61 Buli 34 Bustad 4 Damli 47 Djupli 14 Dombu 178 Draagset 179 Drugli 117 Drugubakken 118 Drugudal 180 Eggen 173 Espaas 29 Fagerli med Løkkens Grube 96 Fitjan 53 Fjølhaugen 103 Foss 155 Fossjyngerne 163 Garberg 70 Gildøien 189 Gjeitsteen 41 Granaas 178 Granen 3 Granmoen 35 Gravraak 73 Grefstad 204 Groeggen 106 Grut 52 Grutsæteren 55 Grutsæterhagerne 125 Grytbakken 109 Grytlien 59 Grønli 190 Haldoslettet 175 Halset 156 Halsgjerd 26 Haugen 54 Haugen 186 Haukaas 160 Haukli 183 Helli 139 Hilstad 96 Hol 151 Holan 77 Hollstad 152 Hove 195 Høgglien 62 Høidal 32 Jerhus 110 Jerpstad 118 Jøldalen 21 Kalstad 137 Kjærstad 197 Kuli 13 Kvam 187 Laksøian 31 Langenget 182 Langset 120 Langvatnet 27 Laushus 30 Lien 166 Lien 172 Lilleaas 162 Lilleholtan 45 Lillenæve 7 Lo 12 Loslettet 88 Lund 90 Lundesæteren 40 Løkken 158 Løkken 1 Maagset 76 Meldalens Præstegaard 184 Mjøen 2 Moen 193 Morken 154 Mosbronn 142 Muan 165 Myren 164 Myrhaugen 155 Nederfoss 19 Nordvold 84 Ofstad 79 Re 16 Reberg 126 Resel 90 Rikstad 200 Ringen 6 Ry 136 Ry 79 Rydningen 5 Rødslettet 28 Saattan 203 Sandvik 167 Skjervøian 33 Skjøtskifte med Hamrum 57 Skubholt 80 Smidalen og Messa 161 Snausen 131 Snoen 22 Snuruaas 157 Solem 36 Staveli 23 Steigen 24 Steigevolden 99 Stene 123 Stoin 93 Stokkan 58 Stolsmo 169 Storaas 55 Storhagen 66 Storsteen 202 Stranden 196 Stupelvik 150 Stylen 181 Sugustad 51 Svahyllan 119 Svartaadalen 65 Svartbækken 50 Svartsæteren 176 Svinsaas 194 Svinsaaslien 144 Systad 149 Systadvold 49 Sæteren 124 Sæteren 86 Sølberg 55 Sølbergshagen 55 Talleraasen 192 Trætvik 39 Urvatnet 121 Valaaskaret 201 Vaulen 28 Vavold 5 Vigdlotten 17 Vold 70 Vold 44 Voldmo 150 Voldøian 130 Øian

The following farms were listed in Lykkja, Nils, Meldal Bygdebok- Gard og ætt, vol. 1, (Meldal Kommune: 1958):

Bakken-
Bergsgardane- Bergsbakken, Frillsjøliene, Midtskog Austre, Midtskog Vestre, Moen, Nordgard, Rønningen, Skarålia, Sørgard, Oppstuggu
Bustad- Brekka, Haugen, Lykkja
Damli- Gjerdet, Sæterlia
Dombusgrenda- Bjørset, Engan, Engly, Gjerdet, Haugen, Hestgjerdet, Nordgard, Sørgard, Tøfte, Øverbu
Fagerlia- Dalen, Ekronn, Gjerdet, Grana, Granastuggu, Liahaugen, Møen, Nedi Fagerlia, Oppi Fagerlia, Uti Bakkom
Fjellheim- Kussubakken
Grefstadgrenda- Bergsbakken, Birkeland, Grefstadhagen, Klokkargarden, Myrahagen, Nergrefstad, Oppigard, Tørhaugen
Granmo- Lillemo, Gjerdet
Gransen-
Gravråk- Pettershagen, Skaranshagen, Slette, Tjønnåsen
Grønlia (Kalstad)- Buli, Grønlia (Dømbu)
Grøtte Prestegard- Mesteigen, Mesteigstuggu, Mesøra, Prestmoen, Tøfte
Hangen Oppigard- Nedigard, Ospenget, Sageggen, Sagvoll, Sagvollen, Øverhaugen
Holstadgardane- Grindvollen, Kalvhagen, Nordgard, Nylykja, Stuggu, Sørgard, Tauan
Høydalsgrenda- Frammihøydalen, Høgdal, Høydal (Klingen), Tjønnbakkslåtta, Ytre Høydal,
Jørdhus- Bakken, Tronget
Kalstad- Bjørga, Djupa, Engstuggu, Litlkalstad
Kramsgrenda- Gjerdet, Litlstuggu, Maurbakken, Moen, Storstuggu, Øya
Langeng- Gjerdet, Kleva, Klevan, Møen
Laushus Nordre- Bergan, Bergangjerdet, Kleven, Grindvoll, Nordlaushus, Sjrusan, Skogan, Smedplassen, Sommervoll, Størkobakken, Såttågjerdet, Såttån, Vavoll
Laushus Søndre- Bergan, Fjerdet, Kroken, Løvli, Skåveien, Øvre Laushus, Øyen
Lensmannslykkja-
Lien- Liahaugen
Lillebuan-
Lillenæve- Arnhagen, Garden, Nordgarden, Skårgangen, Sørgarden
Losgrenda- Dråggådalen, Jomoen, Kalvhagen, Nystuggu, Oppstuggu, Slette, Sørlykkja, Sørstuggu, Utlykkja, Utstuggu
Løkken Gruva- Gruvkleva, Smedhaugen
Moen- Ballen, Haugen, Sand
Mogset- Brekka, Gaddåsen, Kleva, Lukkja, Rønningen
Ofstadgardane- Ellenstuggu, Gjerdet, Hagen, Kverngrinda, Lerdal, Nedstuggu, Oppstuggu, Ramsem
Orvatnet- Bjørkhaugen, Grønlia, Langdalen, Merkeshagen, Saga Nedre, Saga Øvre
Reberg- Engen, Flotten, Kjerringhagen, Stuggu
Resgrenda- Brekka, Engan, Haftorslykkja, Hagen, Kalvhagen, Lerdalshagen, Lukkjflata, Nedgard, Nordgard, Nordstuggu, Reshaugen, Rønningen, Rønningne, Svinsan, Sørgard, Sørstuggu, Tuvan
Ry- Bakken, Bergan, Brekka, Dambakken, Espåsen, Granhaugen, Lykkja, Moen, Slåtta
Skubbholte-
Skjulenget- Nordre, Søndre, Skogli
Skjøtskift- Fløtten, Gjerdet, Hesthagen, Moen, Øyan
Snuruds Vestre- Snuruås Austre
Staveli- Bokkbrustuggu, Moen, Sørgjerdet
Steigen- Brandås, Dalen, Eggen, Holden, Myrås, Nordsteigen, Røttereng, Slette, Steigabakk, Steigavollen, Steigen Nord, Storekra, Trongbakken
Stolsmo-
Stor-Buan– Burønningen
Storsen Søndre- Nordgjerdet, Nygard, Storsten Nordre
Svartbekken (sæter)- Bakklandet, Svartbekket
Svartvatnet-
Sæterdalen- Bastiansætre, Blomlihaugen, Djuplia, Fjølhaugen, Grutsæter, Grønvollen, Hagane, Haugen, Lergrava, Stenåsen, Svahylla, Svartsæter
Vollagrenda- Djupa, Gjelbakken, Håggån, Nedgard, Nordgard, Nordvoll, Nordvollsætra, Olskastet, Ratøya, Ringen, Samskotot, Varsmo
Vollmo- Haugen, Nordgjerdet
Åmotsgrenda- Bakken, Brustuggu, Hagen, Litlslettbakken, Lykkja, Møen, Nersaga, Nordgard, Skaret, Strypet, Sørgard, Øversaga

The following farms were listed in Lykkja, Nils, Meldal Bygdebok- Gard og ætt, vol. 2, (Meldal Kommune: 1958):
Angrenda- Aagjerdet, Aaråket, Angjelen, Angjerdet, Ankalvhagen, Anøya, Grøtenget, Gudbrandsplassen, Nordstuggu, Nygard, Nystuggu, Resbruøya, Vang, Utstuggu
Bogevoll- Bogevollbrekka, Bogevollgjerdet, Bogevollstuggu, Lyngen, Ragnhildhagen
Fikke- Fikkegga, Fikkgjelan, Fikkgjerdet, Nordre, Søndre
Foss- Kleva, Flotthagen, Fossmo, Fossmo Skogly, Fossmælen, Nedstuggu, Nystuggu, Oppigard, Oppstuggu, Rabben, Rosshagen, Stenarshaugen, Sørgard, Uta vegen
Grut- Bakkhagen, Bakkstuggu, Bjerkteigen, Bortstuggu, Bortstuggurabben, Bronjølskalvhagen, Grutbakk, Gruthagen, Grutstrand, Grytflotthagen, Jøkalvhagen, Megard, Millekalvhagen, Nerlia, Nilskalvhagen, Norsdtuggu, Oppisørgard, Rabben, Snipen, Utisørgard
Grytbakk- Frampå-Bakkin, Grytbakkdalen, Midt-Bakkin, Yttest Bakkin, Tørlykkja
Hilstadgrenda- Brattråket, Habjørgen, Hilstadmoen, Litlstuggu, Nedstuggu, Nørdgard, Ogjerdet, Oppstuggu, Stuggu, Sørrønningen, Trøstykket, Tuften, Øvergjerdet
Hoelsgrenda- Breiegga, Bortstuggu, Holsfjelan, Holsrabben, Holstuggu, Nordstuggu, Sørgard
Jerpstadgrenda- Bakkgjerdet, Bakklia, Bortstuggu, Halsan, Jerpstadgjerdet, Jørdet, Mobredden, Munksprangstuggu, Nordgard, Osplia, Persvollen, Ramo, Synstigard, Sæterhaugen, Sørgard, Sørvollen, Vøllen
Kjerstadgardane- Kjerstadhaug Nedre, Kjerstadmo, Kjerstadhaug Øvre, Nordgard, Sørgard
Lundagardane- Dalen, Grindheim, Lundahagen, Lundahaugen, Lundarønningen, Nordgard, Nordgjerdet, Randistuggu, Sørgard
Muangardane- Hemmigard, Maumgjerdet, Nyheim, Nordheim, Oppigard
Resdalen- Bogevollsætra, Drugubakken, Drugudalshagen, Druguøya, Langvatnet, Nedre Vålåskaret, Oppigard Valåskaret, Redsalssætra, Storgjerdet, Støin, Vålåskaret, Vasslåtta
Resellgrenda- Dålåhaugen, Dullum, Fagerhaug, Gjerdet, Grøtengstuggu, Kalvhagen, Larsstuggu, Lete, Liahagen, Litlstuggu, Moen, Nilsgjerdet, Nordstuggu, Nystuggu, Nørdgard, Resellhagen, Reselli, Skulgjerdet, Storstuggu, Sørstuggu
Rikstadgrenda- Børtstuggu, Ekra, Engelsmoen, Gammalgarden, Gjerdet, Grøsdalen, Hansjøgensmoen, Lundadalen, Lusimoen, Mikkelsmoen, Nordgard, Oppigard, Rikstaddal, Rikstaddalen, Rikstadgjelen, Rønningen, Sødølsstuggu, Sørgard, Ulberget
Solbergsgardane- Bergekra, Bortistuggu, Nordgard, Sølbergsstuggu, Sørgard
Snoensgrenda- Brauten, Dalstuggu, Granli, Husegga, Oppigard, Nedgard, Nørdgard, Smehagen, Snoensdalen, Snoensgjelen, Snoenshagen Snoenskalvhagen, Snoensøya, Sørgard, Øykjesåkeren
Sten- Flotthagen, Hokolden, Larshaugen, Nedstuggu, Nerhaugen, Nilshagen, Nordgard, Oppstuggu, Stavlen, Stensflotten, Stensgjelen, Søgard, Tyrihaugen, Utstuggu, Øverhaugen
Stokkgardane- Nedgard, Oppigard, Rabben, Stokkberget, Stokkli, Stokkrønningen, Øverberget, Øvergjerdet
Styrstadgrenda- Ellingshagen, Engan (Oppstuggu), Gjerdet (Gjerdetplass), Heimstad, Hølia, Hølilykkja, Jordmormoen, Kalvhagen, Kissten, Nordgard, Nordgjerdet, Nystuggugjerdet, Oppigard, Ragnhildstuggu, Snikkarmoen, Storslett, Sybrustuggu, Syrstadegga, Syrstadfløtten, Syrstadlykkja, Syrstadvollen, Sørgard, Sørsimoen, Øklendet, Øklendstuggu
Øverøya- Bergeng, Sæterbrekka, Uvbakken, Uvøya
Øvre Ry- Søndre Ry, Røsbrekka


The following farms were listed in Lykkja, Nils, Meldal Bygdebok- Gard og ætt, vol. 3, (Meldal Kommune: 1958):'Agholt'- Agholtdalen
Bjørkhaugen-
Bjørset, Herut- Bjørset Heropp, Bjørsetmoen, Bjørsetstuggu, Linvollen
Blakstadli- Gården, Laksøyslette
Blakstad Søndre- Blakstad Nordre, Plassen
Blokkum Nordre- Blokkum Midtre, Blokkum Søndre, Blokkemegga, Blokkumgjerdet, Blokkumhaugen, Brekka, Larshagen
Drogset- Drogsetbrekka, Granan Nordre, Granan Søndre, Johagen, Solset, Vahaug
Drugli- Druglihaugen, Druglimo, Druglitrø
Espåsgrenda- Espåslykkja, Espåsråket, Nedi garda, Oppi garda, Vollen
Fossen- Fossflata, Fosshagen, Fossrønningen, Fossvoll, Gammalhokold, Lillering, Nyhus, Viken
Garberg, Frammi garda- Fjelly, Garbergsberget, Garbergsbakken, Refshaugen, Uti garda
Geitstein-
Groeggen Søndre- Brekka, Groeggbakken, Groeggen Nordre, Groeggjerdet, Groegghagen, Knuthagen, Litl-Groegga
Haldoslåtta Søndre- Haldoslåtta Nordre Huluenget
Halsetgardane- Garden, Halsetbakk, Halsetrønning, Halsetrønningen, Halsettussan, Utpå bakkom
Halsgjerd- Halsgjerdhaugen, Rønningen, Slettbakken
Haugås- Haukåsflata, Haukåsøya
Haukli- Haukligjerdet, Nergjerdet
Heli- Heliaunet, Helihaugen
Holum Nordre- Blokkeskaret, Halvarråket, Hølum Søndrre, Nilsråket
Hovsgrenda- Bruhaugen, Innistuggu, Nordgard, Pershaugen, Samuelstuggu, Sørgard, Sørhaugen, Tjønnenden
Laksøya Storøya- Litløya, Nordgjerdet, Øyahaugen, Øyaholtet, Øyalia
Laksøybygda-
Langset- Brattråket, Brustuggu, Langsetflotten, Langsetgjerdet, Langsetorane
Lia Ytterlia- Sørlia
Lilleholt- Gjerdet, Gården, Litlholtlykkja, Nyhus, Tømmerhaugen, Øvre-Gjerdet
Lilleås- Dalheim, Lilleåsbakken, Lilleåsmæl, Linkjeldåsen, Lilleåshaug
Lykkjagardane- Bakkan, Bakkstuggu, Brekka, Brubakken, Brubakkstugguhagen, Eggen, Einarsstuggu, Gammallykkja, Lykkjgjerdet, Løkkmo, Nedgard, Oppigard, Raudtjønnmoen, Rena,
Malisætra-
Morrhaugen-
Mosbrynd- Brandåsen, Brustuggu, Hokold, Høkoldegg, Myrhaug, Møsbryndshagen, Øverhokold
Myjøgardane- Lynghagen, Nermjøa, Nystuggu, Oppi garda, Råket, Sløbrekkflotten, Sløbrekkstuggu, Småliene Øya
Myra- Myravoll
Nedlagte bruk- Høglia, Kuli Trettvika, Morrtjønna, Stupelvika
Ringen- Karlhagen, Ringli
Sandvik Joparten- Sandvik Nordre, Sandvik Søndre
Skjervøya- Skjervlia
Snausen-
Solem Søndre- Gjelan, Piken Råa, Solem Nordre, Solemsmo, Solemsøya, Trøa
Strand- Strandhaugen
Sugustad, Inni stuggu- Oppi garde, Oppi stuggu, Pettershagen, Segelbakk, Sugustadegga, Sugustadhaugen
Svinsås- Ellendstuggu, Litl-Svinsås, Nergjerdet, Rønningsstuggu Stor-Svinsås, Svinsårabben, Svinsåsgjerdet
Vaulgrenda- Borti Stuggu, Garden, Oppi Stuggu, Vaulhaugen, Vaulegga
Vølløya Søndre- Jerstuggu, Litl-Mælen, Mælen, Vølløya Nørdre, Øyahaugen
Åsgrenda (Storås)- Furuleet, Jostuggu, Knutsstuggu, Kåret, Nygarden, Råa, Skjervholtet, Storstuggu, Sørgard, Tømmerdalen, Utigard, Åsbakk, Åsgjelane, Åshagen, Åsheim, Åslykkja

Probate Records

1689-1880: Probates may be found in Orkdal judicial district.

1766-1810: Clerical probates may be found in Dalane Deanery.

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 June 2015, at 16:23.
  • This page has been accessed 1,725 times.