Mellor, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Mellor, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Mellor, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Mellor, Derbyshire
Mellor St Thomas Derbyshire.jpg
Mellor St Thomas Derbyshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred High Peake
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Hayfield PLU
Registration District Hayfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1624
Bishop's Transcripts: 1662
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Castleton
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Mellor is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Derbyshire, created in 1737 from chapelry in Glossop, Derbyshire Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Ludworth and Chisworth and No Man's Land.

MELLOR, a chapelry, in the parish of Glossop, union of Hayfield, hundred of High Peak, N. division of the county of Derby, 8¼ miles (N. W. by N.) from Chapel-en-le-Frith. There are places of worship for Wesleyans and Independents. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Mellor parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Mellor St Thomas (1628) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1629-1890
  NONE
1678-1775   NONE
1624-1909
  NONE

Mellor St Thomas was originally a chapelry of Glossop, Derbyshire which became a parish in 1859 following part of the parish forming New Mills in 1831(see Beard, Derbyshire) The parish transferred to Cheshire in 1935 and to the diocese of Chester in 2007.

It is advisable to search Glossop, Derbyshire marriage registers after 1775.

Derbyshire Record Office reference D3858 has deposited registers Bap 1628-1890 Mar 1627-1775 Burials 1624-1909

See also transcript available at Derbyshire Record Office from1624 which has missing entries and does not cover all years of early registers.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Roman Catholic

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241290.


Poor Law Unions

Hayfield Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Mellor on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 283-287.Date accessed: 13 May 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2015, at 13:21.
  • This page has been accessed 2,025 times.