Melton Mowbray with Burton Lazars, Freeby, Sysonby and Welby, Leicestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.pngLeicestershire Gotoarrow.png Leicestershire Parishes

Guide to Melton Mowbray with Burton Lazars, Freeby, Sysonby and Welby, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Melton Mowbray with Burton Lazars, Freeby, Sysonby and Welby, Leicestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Framland
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Melton Mowbray PLU
Registration District Melton Mowbray
Records begin
Parish registers: 1546; Separate registers exist for Burton Lazars beginning 1778 and also for Sysonby beginning 1830
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562; Separate registers exist for Burton Lazars beginning 1720 and also for Sysonby beginning 1829
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Framland
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MELTON-MOWBRAY, or Melton (St. Mary), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Framland, N. division of the county of Leicester, 15 miles (N. E.) from Leicester, and 105(N. W.) from London.

There are chapels of ease at Burton-Lazars,Freeby, and Welby; and places of worship for Independents, Wesleyans, and Roman Catholics. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Burton Lazars registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
Burton Lazars Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1762-1891
1762-1891
1762-1891

Freeby registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Freeby Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1605-1910
1605-1910
1605-1910

Sysonby registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Sysonby Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1817-1902

1817-1902

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438741.


Poor Law Unions

Melton Mowbray Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 287-291. Date accessed: 11 September 2012.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 25 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,219 times.