Merced County, California GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Merced County, California)

United States go toCaliforniago to Merced County

Guide to Merced County, California ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Merced County, California
Map of California highlighting Merced County
Location in the state of California
Map of the U.S. highlighting California
Location of California in the U.S.
Founded April 19, 1855
County Seat Merced
Address Merced County Courthouse
 2222 M Street
Merced, CA 95340
Phone: 209.385.7627

Merced County Website


County Information

Merced County, California Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1873 1870 1890 1850 1855 1855

County Courthouse

County Clerk has divorce, probate and court records from 1855
County Recorder has birth, marriage, death and burial Records [2]

Historical Facts

Wikipedia has more about this subject: Merced County, California

Parent County

19 April 1855: Merced County was created from Mariposa County. County seat: Merced [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the website.

Records Loss

For a list of record loss in California counties see: California Counties with Burned Courthouses


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties


Bible Records




For tips on accessing Merced County, California Genealogy census records online, see: California Census.

Church History and Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Merced

Court Records

Crime and Criminals


Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups





Local histories are available for Merced County, California Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.

Land and Property




Military History and Records

Naturalization and Citizenship


Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Merced County, California Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:



Probate Records

The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - Merced - Probate records.


Archives, Libraries and Museums

County Courthouse

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.



California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder. See also How to order California Vital Records





Voting Registers

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Merced County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 3061
Merced, CA 95344
Merced County Genealogical Society

Merced County Historical Society & Courthouse Museum
21st & N Streets
Merced, CA 95340
Merced County Historical Society

Web Sites


  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 62-75. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Merced County, California. Page 85 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 September 2015, at 20:16.
  • This page has been accessed 11,621 times.