Merthyr, Carmarthenshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Merthyr, Carmarthenshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshire ParishesGotoarrow.pngMerthyr

A guide to genealogy in Merthyr, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

For other places with a similar name see Merthyr

Merthyr is a village, and ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales. It is in the community of Llannewydd and Merthyr.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

Contents

History

MERTHYR, a parish, in the lower division of the hundred of ELVET, union and county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 4 miles (W.) from Carmarthen. This parish is situated in the south-western portion of the county, and is intersected on the west by the river Cywin, which falls into the Tâf at Llangvihangel-Abercowin; and on the south by the turnpike-road leading from Carmarthen to St. Clear's. The church, dedicated to St. Martin, is a small plain building, undistinguished by any architectural details. There are places for worship for Presbyterians, and a class of dissenters who assume no particular denomination.[1]

For more information on Merthyr see Merthyr at Genuki.

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464310.


Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 16 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:29.
  • This page has been accessed 858 times.