Merthyr TydfilEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngMerthyr TydfilGotoarrow.pngMerthyr Tydfil

A guide to genealogy in Merthyr Tydfil, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Merthyr Tydfil (Welsh: Merthyr Tudful) is a town and ecclesiastical parish in the County Borough of Merthyr Tydfil, Wales.

Before 1974 the town was in the historic county of Glamorgan and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Mid Glamorgan. In 1996 it became part of the modern County Borough of Merthyr Tydfil.

Contents

History

For more information on Merthyr Tydfil see Merthyr Tydfil at Genuki.

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Glamorgan
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Mid Glamorgan
from 1 April 1996 Merthyr Tydfil

Communities

See Communities in Merthyr Tydfil

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

The 1841 census returns for Dowlais and Upper Merthyr Tydfil are missing.

The 1891 census returns for parts of Morgantown, Merthyr Tydfil are defective.  Some pages are missing in ED 25.  For full details see http://members.ozemail.com.au/~peterpjw/defects2.html.

Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Societies

Family History

Local History

The Merthyr Tydfil Historical Society is not oriented to family history but has published twenty four journals that provide information on local history that will benefit anyone interested in genealogy or local history.

Web Sites

References


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 March 2014, at 03:57.
  • This page has been accessed 2,307 times.