Miami Indian Agency (Oklahoma)Edit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png Oklahoma Gotoarrow.png Indians of Oklahoma Gotoarrow.png Miami Indian Agency (Oklahoma)

The Miami Agency is a currently operating agency of the Bureau of Indian Affairs. Its supervising office is the Muskogee Area Office.

Contents

Indian Tribes Associated With This Agency

Cayuga, Eastern Shawnee, Miami, Modoc, Nez Perce, Ottawa, Peoria, Quapaw, Seneca-Cayuga, Wyandotte, and the Confederated Kaskaskia, Piankashaw, and Wea

History

The Miami Agency is the successor to the Quapaw Agency, which was established in 1871 and operated under that name until 1947, when the name was changed to the Miami Agency[1].

Agents

John E. Douglas, Abel C. Pepper, John Tipton, Samuel Milroy, Allen Hamilton, Joseph Sinclair [2]

Records

The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

For a description of the various records, their content, and their availability, link to the pages for each type of record. Each individual agency also has a page describing its history and the location of their records. An alphabetical list of the agencies of the Bureau of Indian Affairs can be found below. They are also linked under the topic "American Indians" for each state. Pages for individual sub-agencies are listed alphabetically under the category of "American Indian Subagencies" and are linked under the topic of "American Indians" for each state where they existed.

See the listing of records under Quapaw Agency. In addition to the records listed there for the Quapaw Agency, additional records may be in the National Archives Southwest Region (Ft. Worth), including enrollment records, a register of Indian families, other family history records, student records, medical files, census records, and other items of interest to a family historian[3].

References

  1. Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981, p. 167.
  2. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. By Edward E. Hill. Clearwater Publishing Co., New York, NY ©1974. FHL Book 970.1 H551o
  3. Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981, p. 167.
  • American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998.
  • Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981.
  • Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clearwater Publishing Company, Inc., 1974.
  • Historical Sketches for Jurisdictional and Subject Headings Used for the Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880. National Archives Microcopy T1105.
  • Preliminary Inventory No. 163: Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Services. Available online

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 March 2015, at 20:49.
  • This page has been accessed 1,681 times.