Middlesex County, ConnecticutEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Connecticut Gotoarrow.png Middlesex County

Guide to Middlesex County Connecticut genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Middlesex County, Connecticut
Map
Map of Connecticut highlighting Middlesex County
Location in the state of Connecticut
Facts
Founded May 2, 1785
County Seat Middletown
Courthouse
Address 265 DeKoven Drive
Middletown, CT 06457
Phone: 860.344.2966
Middlesex County Website

Contents

County Courthouse



Town Clerks  have birth, marriage, death and land records; Clerk of the Superior Court  has divorce and court records from 1800; Probate Judge  has probate records.[1]

Towns Organized Before 1800:
Chatham 1767,
Durham 1704,
East Haddam 1734,
Haddam 1668,
Killingsworth 1667,
Middletown 1651,
Saybrook 1635

  • There is no county government.
  • The government is at the town level.
  • Probate records may be kept at regional courthouses. For example, Middletown's probate court includes records for the immediate area.

Quick Facts

Adopt-a-wiki page
CTGenWeb Project.jpg This page adopted by:
USGenWeb CT Archives
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Middlesex County, Connecticut
  • Named for County of Middlesex, England (now part of Greater London, England.)

Parent County

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Connecticut county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Connecticut County Boundary Maps" (1643-1960) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

No records kept at county level except in very rare cases. For specific losses, please visit town pages.

Places / Localities

ConnecticutMiddlesex CountyNew Haven CountyHartford CountyTolland CountyNew London CountyDurhamMiddlefieldMiddletownCromwellPortlandEast HamptonEast HaddamHaddamChesterDeep RiverEssexOld SaybrookWestbrookClintonKillingworthPlainvilleNew BritainNewingtonWethersfieldRocky HillGlastonburyMarlboroughBerlinSouthingtonHebronColumbiaMeridenWallingfordNorth BranfordBranfordGuilfordMadisonLebanonColchesterSalemLymeEast LymeOld Lyme
Modern towns and cities in Middlesex County, Connecticut. Click map to go to each respective town page.


City: Middletown

Towns

Borough:  Fenwick

Unincorporated communities:  Centerbrook | Essex Village | Higganum | Ivoryton | Lake Pocotopaug | Leesville | Little Haddam | Middle Haddam | Millington | Moodus | Saybrook Manor

Neighboring counties:  Hartford | New Haven | New London | New York counties:  Suffolk

Resources

Archives and Libraries

Biographies

  • Wright, Benjamin 1610 - March 26, 1677, USGenWeb CTArchives
  • History of Middlesex County, Connecticut with biographical sketches of its prominent men, (New York :J.B. Beers, 1884).  Available online at Internet Libraries, (accessed 2 Mar 2011).  Also available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 982491 Item 3.
  • Elaine F. Staplins, The Founders of Saybrook Colony and their descendants, 1635-1985, ([S.l. : s.n.], 1985).  Includes index.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.66 D3f.  Also see Saybrook Colony Founders Association, (accessed 2 Mar 2011).
  • Commemorative biographical record of Middlesex County, Connecticut containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens, and of many of the early settled families, (Chicago, Illinois : J.H. Beers, 1903).  Includes index.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.66 D3c, or FHL US/CAN Film 982492 Item 4. Also see The Society of Middletown First Settlers Descendants, (accessed 2 Mar 2011).

Indexes

  • J.A. McKenzie for the Southern California Genealogical Society, An every name index to History of Middlesex County, Connecticut with biographical sketches of its prominent men, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2005).  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1783640 Item 4.

Cemeteries

Individual cemeteries:

Census

For tips on accessing Middlesex County, Connecticut census records online, see: Connecticut Census.

Federal 1890

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

  • Deeds and Land Records, USGenWeb CTArchives
  • Middlesex County Connecticut Court Records Directory, (accessed 8 Mar 2011).
  • Connecticut.  Superior Court, Middlesex County, Court Records, 1786-1797, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1989).  Microfilm of original records in the Connecticut State Archives, Hartford.  Court papers are arranged in several files: miscellaneous, partition of land, jurors, court expense, costs, travel and inquest.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1639454 Items 2-8.

Directories

  • Linkpendium, Directories, Middlesex County, (accessed 8 Mar 2011).
  • Old Saybrook city directory including Chester, Deep River, Essex, Westbrook, (New Haven [Connecticut] : Price & Lee, 1972-).  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.66 E4po.
  • Middletown, Portland directory, (New Haven [Connecticut] : Price & Lee, 1931-). Includes index. Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.66 E4p.
  • Durham (Middlesex County, Conn.) city directory including Haddam, Higganum, Middlefield, Rockfall, (New Haven [Connecticut] : Price & Lee, 1973-). Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.66 E4pd.
  • Connecticut River Valley directories, (Woodbridge, Connecticut : Research Publications, 1995). Available at the Family History Library, 1913-14 FHL US/CAN Film 2308483 Item 1, continues through Item 5 (1928).

Divorce Records

  • Connecticut.  Superior Court, Middlesex County, Divorce Records, 1786-1797, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1989).  Microfilm of original records in the Connecticut State Archives, Hartford.  Records are in two chronological groupings, 1786 to 1789, 1790 to 1797.   Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1639454 Item 1.

Gazetteers

Middlesex County, Gazetteer, (accessed 2 Mar 2011).

History

See the Biography section for further sources.

Indexes

  • J.A. McKenzie, Southern California Genealogical Society (Burbank, California), An every name index to History of Middlesex County, Connecticut with biographical sketches of its prominent men, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2005).   Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1783640 Item 4.

Land and Property

Deeds, mortgages, releases, and other related documents were recorded by the town clerk and are at the town halls. Most are indexed by grantor and grantee. There is no statewide index.

The Family History Library and the Connecticut State Library have microfilm copies of many proprietors' and town records from the earliest years to the mid or late 1800s. Some are as recent as the 1900s. They are listed in the Family History Library Catalog under the name of the town.

  • Library of Congress. Geography and Map Division, Middlesex County, Connecticut land ownership map, 1859, (Washington, District of Columbia : Library of Congress, 1983).  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Fiche 6079300. Also available online at flickr from Yahoo, (accessed 2 Mar 2011).

Maps

Ctmiddlesex.jpg

Military Records

Civil War

Service men from Middlesex County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Most of the men in the following companies were from Middlesex County.

  1. 1st Regiment, Connecticut Heavy Artillery -  Company G and H, (Middletown)
  2. 2nd Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Infantry Company A
  3. 14th Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company B
  4. 20th Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company D
  5. 21st Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company I
  6. 24th Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company A, B, D, F and G.
World War I and World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

  • Connecticut. County Court and Superior Court, (Middlesex County), Naturalization records, 1844-1871, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1984).  Contains declarations of intent, and records of naturalization. Includes records of the County Court and the Superior Court.  For index to naturalizations in these records see: Connecticut. Superior Court (Middlesex County). Naturalization index, 1844- 1955.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1398618 Items 4-5.
  • Connecticut. Superior Court (Middlesex County), Naturalization records, 1844-1909, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1984).  Indexes are found with most volumes.  Naturalization records 1847-1859, includes also declarations of intent 1844-1856.  For general index to these records see: Connecticut. Superior Court (Middlesex County). Naturalization index, 1844-1955.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1398618 Item 3. (4 films)
  • Connecticut. Superior Court (Middlesex County), Naturalization records (Middlesex County, Connecticut), 1841-1945, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1984-2008).  Indexes are found within each volume.  Vol. 1, 1906-1909, Declarations of intention is missing and was not filmed.  The records are filmed in certificate number order.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1398618 Item 2. (12 films)

Index

  • Connecticut. Superior Court (Middlesex County), Naturalization index, 1844-1955, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1984).   Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1398614, 1st of 5 films.

Newspapers


Obituaries

Probate Records

Connecticut State Library, Research Guide to Connecticut Probate Districts, (accessed 28 Feb 2011).

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Connecticut Vital Records

  • Births, Deaths, Marriages, USGenWeb CTArchives
  • Linkpendium, Vital Records, Middlesex County, (accessed 8 Mar 2011).
  • Elizabeth B. Plimpton, The Vital records of Saybrook Colony, 1635-1860 including the towns of Chester, Deep River, Essex, Old Saybrook, and Westbrook, Connecticut, ([S.l.] : Connecticut Valley Shore Research Group, c1985).  Includes index.  Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.66 V2v.

Societies, Libraries, Museums

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 113. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 April 2014, at 00:18.
  • This page has been accessed 8,938 times.