Middleton, Warwickshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Middleton, Warwickshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Warwickshire Gotoarrow.png Warwickshire Parishes

Middleton, Warwickshire
Middleton St John the Baptist Warwickshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hemlingford
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Tamworth PLU
Registration District Tamworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1671
Bishop's Transcripts: 1655
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Arden
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1836 - Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Warwickshire County Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MIDDLETON (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Tamworth, Tamworth division of the county of Warwick, 4½ miles (S. S. W.) from Tamworth. The parish is bounded on the north by a portion of the county of Stafford[1]

Additional information:

Middleton is an Ancient Parish in Warwickshire.

MIDDLETON (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Tamworth, Tamworth division of the county of Warwick, 4½ miles (S. S. W.) from Tamworth; containing 505 inhabitants. The parish is bounded on the north by a portion of the county of Stafford, and comprises by measurement 3901 acres, the whole of which, with the exception of about 100 acres belonging to the Moxhall estate, is the property of Lord Middleton. The surface is undulated, and the scenery pleasingly varied, and embellished with wood; the soil is light and gravelly, and the greater portion of it arable. Middleton Hall, a seat of Lord Middletons, is an ancient moated mansion, finely situated, and surrounded by an extensive park. The Birmingham and Fazeley canal passes in the vicinity. The living is a donative; net income, £100; patron and impropriator, Lord Middleton. The church is partly Norman, and partly in the early English style, with a square tower; and contains monuments to Willoughby, the naturalist, and Ridgway, Earl of Londonderry, and also two ancient brasses. The parish gives the title of Baron to the Willoughbys, of Wollaton Hall, near Nottingham.

From: 'Middlesmoor - Middleton-Hall', A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 306-310. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51148 Date accessed: 31 March 2011.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Middleton, Warwickshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).[2][3]
Middleton, Warwickshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1674-1812 1674-1812 1674-1812 1674-1812 1674-1812 1674-1812
AC 1813-1910 1813-1910

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464172.


Poor Law Unions

Tamworth Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 13 November 2013.
  2. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 13 June 2014.
  3. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:45.
  • This page has been accessed 1,478 times.