Middleton in Teesdale, Durham GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Middleton in Teesdale, Durham)

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Middleton in Teesdale, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Middleton in Teesdale, Durham
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Darlington
County Durham
Poor Law Union Teesdale PLU
Registration District Teesdale
Records begin
Parish registers: 1578; Separate registers exist for Forest and Harwood beginning 1845
Bishop's Transcripts: 1762
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Darlington
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MIDDLETON-in-Teesdale (St. Mary), a markettown and parish, in the union of Teesdale, S. W. division of Darlington ward, S. division of the county of Durham; comprising the chapelry of Egglestone, and the townships of Forest with Frith, Middleton, and Newbiggin. There are places of worship for Primitive Methodists, Wesleyans, and Baptists. [1]

Additional information: Middleton-in-Teesdale is an extensive ancient parish, forming the south-western extremity of the county of Durham, and comprises the four townships of Middleton, Eggleston, Newbiggin, and Forest and Frith. Due to its size chapleries and later parishes were formed from within it's boundary. The Church, which is dedicated to St. Mary the Virgin, replaces one which was standing here of about the date 1160 or 1180. The later church was pulled down in 1876, and the present one built in the same style.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/ 2/178  1762-1832 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at Family Search Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.The Parish Registers for:-

  • Eggleston 1795-1920 (EP/Egn).
  • Middleton-in-Teesdale, St. Mary the Virgin 1578-1952 (EP/MT)
  • Forest and Frith, St. James the Less 1845-1970 (EP/FF)

are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Non Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241351.


Poor Law Unions

Teesdale Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Middleton in Teesdale on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2103.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 May 2015, at 02:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,893 times.