Middlewich, St Michael and All Angels, Cheshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Middlewich, St Michael and All Angels

Middlewich St Michael and All Angels contributor David P.Howard

Contents

Parish History

Middlewich St Michael and All Angels is an Ancient parish including Byley, Clive, Croxton, Kinderton cum Hulme, Middlewich, Minshull Vernon, Mooresbarrow with Parme, Newton (near Middlewich), Occlestone, Ravenscroft, Sproston, Stublach, Sutton (near Middlewich), Weaver and Wimboldsley.

Parts of the church date from the 12th century, possibly the lower portion of the tower, but more likely the narrow arcade of the east bay. Most of the church was built during the period c1480–1520 when the nave clerestory was added, new windows were inserted, the Lady Chapel was built at the east end of the south aisle and a two-storey porch was added to the south side. In the following century the Kinderton chapel was added at the east end of the north aisle. The church was damaged during the Civil War, particularly during the First Battle of Middlewich in March 1643 when the Royalists used it as a place of sanctuary. In 1801 restorations were carried out, including moving the Venables screen into the tower. In 1857 a window was added to the memory of John Hulse. In 1857–1860 the north aisle and Kinderton chapel were remodelled by Joseph Clarke. This was a part of a general remodelling of the church, which included removing the whitewash from the interior of the church to reveal the sandstone appearance seen today.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Northwich (1837–1974)
Congleton and Crewe (1974–88)
South Cheshire (1988–98)
Cheshire Central (Post1998)

Cheshire East (post 2009)

Registration events may be searched online at Cheshire BMD

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Middlewich, 1613-1988

Cheshire Record Office reference: P13/1/1-5, P13/2/1-5, P13/7, P13/4608/1-6, P13/3/1-8, P13/4/1-7, P13/5/13, P13/6/12, P13/3789/1-2, P13/9-12, P13/6372/4, 9.

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online in FamilySearch Historical  Records.

Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City.

Parish Register Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1613-1743. BRITISH 2106064 Items 7 - 10
Marriages, 1743-1753. Unfinished index to registers 1700-1721. Baptisms, burials, 1743-1799. Baptisms, 1799-1869. BRITISH 2106065
Baptisms, 1868-1934. Marriages, 1754-1855 BRITISH 2106066
Marriages, 1855-1943. BRITISH 2106067
Draft register baptisms, 1818-1826. Marriage banns, 1759-1793, 1804-1808, 1832-1872, 1918-1942. Marriages, 1943-1945.  Burials, 1799-1909. BRITISH 2106068
Draft baptisms, 1826-1830. Draft marriage banns, 1816-1832. Applications and certificates of banns, 1858-1873. Marriage licences, 1808-1810, 1833-1846, 1858-1873, 1906-1937. Draft burials, 1818-1840. Certificates of registry of death, 1859, 1866. Coroner's warrant and order for burial, 1810, 1867. BRITISH 2106120 Items 1 - 8
Baptisms, 1934-1947. BRITISH 2262739 Item 5
Marriages, 1945-1952. Burials, 1971-1988 BRITISH 2356820 Items 3 - 4


Bishop's transcripts for Middlewich, 1588-1877

Cheshire Record Office reference: EDB/146

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s Transcripts is available online in FamilySearch Historical Records

Bishop’s Transcript Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1588, 1600, 1604, 1607-1609, 1619-1621, 1623, 1630, 1632, 1634-1635, 1637, 1639, 1662, 1665-1666, 1669-1670, 1674-1676, 1681-1683, 1685-1686, 1690, 1692-1706, 1708, 1710-1723, 1726, 1728-1752. Baptisms, burials, 1753-1767, 1769-1775. BRITISH 1736834
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1776-1827.  Baptisms, 1828. BRITISH 1736868
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1821-1825, 1828-1837. Baptisms, burials, 1838-1839; 1840-1850, 1857-1860. BRITISH 1736869
Baptisms, 1851-1877. Burials, 1851-1856; 1861-1868, 1870-1873, 1875-1877. BRITISH 1736870 Items 1 - 2
Non-Conformist Churches

Census records



Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Northwich Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:44.
  • This page has been accessed 1,300 times.