Midsomer Norton, Somerset GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Midsomer Norton, Somerset)

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Midsomer Norton, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Midsomer Norton, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chewton
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Clutton
Registration District Clutton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1697
Bishop's Transcripts: 1579
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Frome
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office


Parish History

MIDSOMER-NORTON, a village, a parish, and a sub-district, in Clutton district, Somerset. The village stands in a valley between two branches of the rivulet Somer, 2 miles W of Radstock railway station, and 10 SW of Bath. The parish contains also the hamlets of Clapton, Downside, Welton, and Clandown. There are Wesleyan chapels in M. N. village, Downside, Clapton, and Clandown; a Primitive Methodist chapel in Clandown; a Roman Catholic college, with attached chapel, in Downside.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Midsomer Norton, Somerset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[7]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[8]


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images

FREG 1616-1639, 1697-1913
1616-1639, 1701-1908
1616-1639, 1700-1908





Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474596.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites



  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Date accessed and adapted: 24 September 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 February 2014.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Somerset, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 21 October 2013.
  5. 'Somerset Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 October 2013.
  6. 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  7. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  8. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  9. E 179 Database, The National Archives, http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/e179/, accessed 8 August 2013.
Contributor: add any additional relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 April 2015, at 16:43.
  • This page has been accessed 3,351 times.