Mildenhall, Suffolk GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Mildenhall parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Mildenhall PLU|
|Parish registers: 1559|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1567|
|Diocese||Pre-1837 - Norwich; Post-1836 - Ely|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Sudbury|
|Location of Archive|
|Suffolk Record Office|
MILDENHALL (St. Mary), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Lackford, W. division of Suffolk, 38½ miles (N. W.) from Ipswich, and 70 (N. N. , with the hamlets of Beck-Row, Holywell-Row, HighTown, and West-Row. Here are places of worship for Baptists, the Countess of Huntingdon's Connexion, and Wesleyans.
If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries. For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at LDS Family History Centres. Refer to and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Mildenhall, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (findmypast) - (£)|
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|Mildenhall, Suffolk Genealogy Online Parish Records|
| This section requires expansion with:
Information about parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, parish chest records, non conformist and other types of church records. Also add links to online parish collections. Make reference to records found in the FamilySearch Catalog. To locate resources, look at Suffolk Parishes in the FamilySearch Catalogue.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474639.
Genealogy From Periodicals
Hart, Marie. Early Birds (A brief summary) Summary of the descendants of John Hynsbey, whose daughter Mary married John Bunnett of Mildenhall. The descendants move to Gt. Cressingham, and one branch to Tasmania, and Melbourne, Australia. Article is dated from 1741-1893, and is found in The Norfolk Ancestor, vol. 7, pt 11, Dec. 1995, pages 462-463. Family History Library Ref. 942.61 B2j vol7, n.6-13.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Suffolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
- 1674 - Mildenhall 1674 Hearth Tax at Google Books - free.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 313-316. Date accessed: 02 October 2013.
- ↑ 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
- ↑ Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- ↑ 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.
- This page was last modified on 23 May 2015, at 01:42.
- This page has been accessed 2,672 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News