Miles Platting St Luke, (Manchester) LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Contents

History

Miles Platting St Luke, Albion Street was created a parish from Newton All Saints, Lancashire in 1871

No early records have been found of Miles Platting, and indeed the area seems not to have appeared on maps until the 1820s. Therefore the origin of the name remains uncertain, but one suggestion is that it may derive from the word platt, meaning a small piece of ground, with miles being a corruption of mills. Hence Miles Platting may mean "mills on a small piece of ground".

Miles Platting certainly did have many mills by the middle of the 19th century; Holland Mill, Victoria Mill and Ducie Mill being amongst the largest. By the 1870s a chemical works, timber yard, gas works and a tannery were also operating in the area alongside the many mills. This volume of industry in such a relatively small area inevitably led to the construction of densely packed back-to-back housing to provide homes for the necessary workforce.

Historically, much of the population of Miles Platting was of Irish Catholic or Italian descent, as evidenced by the large Corpus Christi Priory on Varley Street. The basilica has been served since 1889 by the Norbertine (Premonstratensian) Order, becoming an independent canonry of the order in 2004. Due to falling numbers and mounting repair and maintenance costs the basilica is now closed, the final Mass being celebrated by the Bishop of Salford on April 27 2007.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Include here information for parish registers, Bishop's Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Parish registers for St. Luke's Church, Miles-Platting, 1871-1943 Microfilm copy of original registers filmed and formerly held at the Manchester Archives Central Library in Manchester, England.
Miles-Platting is a chapelry in Manchester parish. St. Luke's was created as a parish in 1876 from All Saints' Church, Newton-Heath.
Manchester Archives Central Library call nos.: M366/1/1/1-8, M366/1/2/1-8.

Content
Film
Baptisms, 1871-June 1928.
VAULT BRITISH Film
2357640 Items 2 - 9
Baptisms, May 1928-1934. Marriages, 1876-December 1908.
FHL BRITISH Film
2357641
Marriages, December 1908-1943.
VAULT BRITISH Film
2357642 Items 1 - 4



Miles Platting- St Luke
Baptisms-1871-1899- MFPR 1523
Baptisms-1899-1967- MFPR 1524
Baptisms-1972-1972- MFPR 1524
Marriages-1876-1898- MFPR 1525
Marriages-1898-1921- MFPR 1526
Marriages-1921-1943- MFPR 1527
Marriages-1963-1967- MFPR 1527

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)

Census records

Include an overview if there is any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed. Add a link to online sites for indexes and/or images. Also add a link to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Poor Law Unions

Manchester Poor Law Union


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
England Jurisdictions 1851

Websites

Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=41417 British History Online with references to Miles Platting


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:15.
  • This page has been accessed 674 times.