Milton Regis, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Milton Regis, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Milton Regis Holy Trinity Kent.jpg

Contents

Parish History

Milton Regis is a village and civil parish in the Swale district of Kent, see Milton Regis Wikiepedia

Milton Regis Holy Trinity is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Canterbury; a map of the parish boundary may be viewed at A church near you.

Although now a suburb of Sittingbourne, Milton Regis was anciently the Manor which governed the hamlet of Sittingbourne. The Domesday survey refers to Milton Terra Regis and the church occupies both a pagan and Roman worship site.

Holy Trinity Church contains within it Roman brick and tile and includes Saxon and Norman masonry and has been designated a grade I listed building by English Heritage. British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 6 (1798), pp. 163-192. Date accessed: 29 August: 2013. at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Milton Regis should not be confused with Milton, Kent near Canterbury



Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

International Genealogical Index Marriages 1622-1781 (Extracts) Batch (M151791)

also Paradise Independent Christenings 1817-1836 Batch (C068491)

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. 

Family History Library film numbersMilton Regis

See also England, Kent, Parish Registers and Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Land Tax 1689-1832

Images for Milton (otherwise Middleton) are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census returns for Milton-next-Sittingbourne, 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Milton Poor Law Union,Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 20:08.
  • This page has been accessed 1,261 times.