Misson, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Misson, Lincolnshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Misson, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

This parish is partly in Lincolnshire and mostly in Nottinghamshire. For information and records, see Misson, Nottinghamshire
Misson, Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bassetlaw
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Doncaster PLU
Registration District Doncaster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1636
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Retford
Diocese Pre-1837 - York; Post-1836 - Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MISSON, a parish, in the union of Doncaster, Hatfield division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 2¾ miles (E. N. E.) from Bawtry. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Additional information:

Misson St John the Baptist see Misson, Nottinghamshire is the Ancient parish referred to as partly in Lincolnshire due to the parish boundary and county boundary failing to be aligned. There are no records in Lincolnshire for the Nottinghamshire parish.

Resources

Church records

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection

Misson Nottinghamshire

Misson

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438901.



Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 09 September 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 May 2015, at 22:19.
  • This page has been accessed 1,583 times.