Mongolia GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Mongolia)

Asia Gotoarrow.png Mongolia

Guide to Mongolia ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Naadam rider 1.jpg

News and Events


Topics
Other Heading
  • (bullet)


Emblem of Mongolia
Flag of Mongolia
Mongolia location in Asia

Mongolia Listeni/mɒŋˈɡoʊliə/ (Mongolian: is a landlocked country in east-central Asia. It is bordered by Russia to the north and China to the south, east and west.

During the times of Genghis Khan, the Mongol hordes conquered almost all of Asia, and came perilously close to entering Europe through Turkey, and conquering Europe as well.

Because of its proximity to the silk road, most of Mongolian history is written about nomadic peoples whose primary activities were raising livestock, and trading and bartering.

In the middle of the 20th. century, Mongolia came under the influence of the USSR, but with the breakdown of that Federation, Mongolia saw its own democratic revolution in early 1990. This led to a multi-party system, a new constitution of 1992, and transition to a market economy.

While the itinerant lifestyle still persists in more than 30% of the country, today one-third of the population has settled in Ulan Bator – a city where “new buildings are rising all the time and traffic has become a major problem

Jurisdictions

Rank - Name - Mongolian - Inhabitants (2000) - Inhabitants (est. 2006) - Administrative Unit
1. Ulan Bator * - Улаанбаатар - 711,900 - 1,008,738(2008) - Ulan Bator
2. Erdenet - Эрдэнэт - 68,310 - 86,866(2008) - Orkhon
3. Darkhan - Дархан - 65,791 - 74,300(2007) - Darkhan-Uul
4. Choibalsan - Чойбалсан - 44,880 - 38,150(2008) - Dornod
5. Mörön - Мөрөн - 28,903 - 36,082(2007) - Khövsgöl
6. Nalaikh - Налайх - 23,600 - 29,115(2008) - Ulan Bator
7. Khovd - Ховд - 26,023 - 28,601(2007) - Khovd
8. Ölgii - Өлгий - 28,060 - 27,855(2008) - Bayan-Ölgii
9. Bayankhongor - Баянхонгор - 22,066 - 26,252 - Bayankhongor
10. Baganuur - Багануур - 21,100 - 25,877(2008) - Ulan Bator
11. Arvaikheer - Арвайхээр - 19,058 - 25,622(2008) - Övörkhangai
12. Ulaangom - Улаангом - 26,319 - 21,406(2007) - Uvs
13. Sükhbaatar - Сүхбаатар - 22,374 - 19,626(2008) - Selenge
14. Sainshand - Сайншанд - 25,210 - 18,285(2008) - Dornogovi
15. Tsetserleg - Цэцэрлэг - 16,553 - 16,300 - Arkhangai
16. Uliastai - Улиастай - 24,276 - 16,240(2008) - Zavkhan
17. Altai - Алтай - 18,023 - 15,800(2008) - Govi-Altai
18. Züünkharaa - Зүүнхараа - n.a. - 15,000(2004) - Selenge
19. Öndörkhaan - Өндөрхаан - 18,003 - 14,800 - Khentii
20. Zuunmod - Зуунмод - 16,227 - 14,568(2007) - Töv
21. Dalanzadgad - Даланзадгад - 14,183 - 14,000 - Ömnögovi
22. Baruun-Urt - Баруун-Урт - 15,133 - 12,944(2008) - Sükhbaatar
23. Zamyn-Üüd - Замын-Үүд - 5,486 - 11,527(2008) - Dornogovi
24. Bulgan - Булган - 16,239 - 11,198(2008) - Bulgan
25. Mandalgovi - Мандалговь - 14,517 - 10,299(2007) - Dundgovi
26. Kharkhorin - Хархорин - n.a. - 8,977(2003) - Övörkhangai
27. Bor-Öndör - Бор-Өндөр - 6,406(2001) - 8,902(2008) - Khentii
28. Choir - Чойр - 8,983 - 7,998 - Govisümber
29. Sharyngol - Шарынгол - 8,902 - 7,798(2008) - Darkhan-Uul
* - city proper, Nalaikh, Baganuur, Bagakhangai not included

Derived from a Wikipedia list of Mongolian cities

Getting started with Mongolia research

http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~mngwgw/.

http://www.geni.com/projects/Mongolia-Genealogy-Project/12760.

http://en.geneanet.org/pays/research-genealogy-ancestry-Mongolia-MNG.

For Mongolian cemetery information, please consider the following:

https://www.google.com/maps/d/viewer?ll=47.942912,106.918602&msa=0&spn=0.05738,0.154324&mid=z0LS5hRjAEiQ.kG7E3eLU8_4I.

http://www.lonelyplanet.com/mongolia/northern-mongolia/sights/cemeteries-memorials-tombs.

FamilySearch Wiki is a community website dedicated to helping people throughout the world learn how to find their ancestors. Through the Georgia Page you can learn how to find, use, and analyze Georgian records of genealogical value. The content is variously targeted to beginners, intermediate, and expert researchers. feedback are essential!

Research Tools

Did you know?

(Your text or images here, or use the table below:)

  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 February 2015, at 20:12.
  • This page has been accessed 5,579 times.