Moniteau County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Moniteau County

Guide to Moniteau County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


Moniteau County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 14, 1845
County Seat California
Courthouse
Address Moniteau County Courthouse
200 East Main Street
California, Mo 65018
Phone: 573-796-4661
Moniteau County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Recorder of deeds has marriage and land records
from 1845; Probate Court has probate records
from 1845[1]

History

Parent County

1845--Moniteau County was created 14 February 1845 from Cole and Morgan Counties. County seat: California [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Boone  • Cole  • Cooper  • Miller  • Morgan

Moniteau CountyCole CountyOsage CountyMaries CountyPhelps CountyPulaski CountyCamden CountyBenton CountyHickory CountyMiller CountyMorgan CountyCooper CountySaline CountyPettis CountyCallaway CountyBoone CountyHoward CountyAudrain CountyMOMoniteau.JPG


Resources

Biographies

Cemeteries

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Catholic

Assumption, Cedron

  • 1852-1876 - Assumption Church, Cedron, Baptism Index 1852-1876. Batch C515001 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1884-1885 - Assumption Church, Cedron, Marriage Index 1884-1885. Batch M515001 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

St. Andrew's, Tipton

  • 1849-1876 - St. Andrew's Church, Tipton, Baptism Index 1849-1876. Batch C511851 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1851-1876 - St. Andrew's Church, Tipton, Marriage Index 1851-1876. Batch M511851 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Moniteau County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

Maps

Momoniteau.jpg

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Moniteau County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
  • 1845-1885 - Moniteau County Birth Index, Volume 1, 1845-1885. Batch C515451 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1883-1894 - Moniteau County Birth Index, Volume 1, 1883-1894. Batch C515453 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriages
  • 1845-1885 - Moniteau County Marriage Book 1 Index 1845-1885. Batch M515451 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1861-1885 - Moniteau County Marriage Books 2 thru 4 Index 1861-1885. Batch M515452 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Deaths
  • Missouri State Archives provides on-line access to Missouri Death Certificates more than 50 yrs old starting in 1910.
  • 1883-1887 - Moniteau County Death Index, Volume 1, 1883-1887. Batch B515453 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Libraries

Moniteau County Library
501 S. Oak St.
California, MO
Phone: (573) 796-2642
Email: librarian@woodplacelibrary.org
Website: http://www.woodplacelibrary.org/?page_id=1
Also on Facebook

Historical Society

Moniteau County Historical Society
201 N. High
California, MO 65018
Phone: (573) 796-3563
Webiste: http://www.moniteau.net/hsoclib.htm

Family History Centers