Monks Kirby, Warwickshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Monks Kirby, Warwickshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Warwickshire Gotoarrow.png Warwickshire Parishes

Contents

Part of this parish is in Leicestershire. See also Monks Kirby, Leicestershire.

Monks Kirby, Warwickshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Knightlow
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Lutterworth PLU
Registration District Lutterworth; Rugby
Records begin
Parish registers: 1647
Bishop's Transcripts: 1677; For more records see Withybrook (Warwickshire)
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Coventry
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1836 - Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Warwickshire County Record Office

Parish History

Monks-Kirby, is a township in Lutterworth district and partly in Rugby district, and a parish in Warwickshire. The township lies adjacent to the Fosse way, 2 miles NE by E of Stretton railway station, and 2¾ miles SW of Watling-street at the boundary with Leicestershire, and 6 miles NNW of Rugby; it has a post office under Lutterworth. The parish contains the hamlets of Pailton, Stretton-under-Foss, Newbold-Revel, and Copston-Magna in Lutterworth district, and the township of Easenhall in Rugby district. There are also non-conformist chapels within the parish, an Independent chapel, two Baptist chapels. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Monks Kirby, Warwickshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).[2][3]
Monks Kirby, Warwickshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1647-1812 1647-1812 1647-1812 1647-1812 1647-1812 1647-1812
AC 1813-1910 1813-1910

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464175.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. Date accessed and adapted: 13 November 2013.
  2. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 13 June 2014.
  3. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 June 2015, at 20:33.
  • This page has been accessed 2,494 times.