Monkton Farleigh, Wiltshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Monkton Farleigh, Wiltshire)

EnglandGotoarrow.pngWiltshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes

Guide to Monkton Farleigh, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Monkton Farleigh, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bradford
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Bradford PLU
Registration District Bradford-on-Avon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1570
Bishop's Transcripts: 1623
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Potterne
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MONKTON-FARLEIGH (St. Peter) , a parish, with a village, in Bradford-on-Avon district in the county of Wilts (Wiltshire). It is located in the Trowbridge and Bradford subdivisions also in the union and hundred of Bradford, Westbury.[1][2]

Monkton-Farleigh is adjacent to the river Avon and the Great Western railway. It is also located on the boundary with Somersetand it is 3½ miles NW by N of Bradford railway station.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Monkton Farleigh, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[6]
Monkton Farleigh, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1623-1880


IGI 1623-1843
NBI

1598-1837
NIM 1570-1837
1570-1837
1570-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464192.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 334-340. Date accessed: 07 October 2013.
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales(1870-72)]
  3. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Wiltshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 January 2014.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 3 November 2013.
  6. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 May 2015, at 20:44.
  • This page has been accessed 1,365 times.