Monkton Wyld, Dorset GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Monkton Wyld, Dorset)

England Gotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes

Guide to Monkton Wyld, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Contents

Part of this parish is in Dorset. See also Monkton Wyld, Devon.

Parish History

Monkton Wyld - The Ecclesiastical parish of Monkton Wyld was created in 1850 from the ancient parish of Whitchurch Canonicorum, Dorset county, and the ancient parish of Uplyme in county Devon..[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Monkton Wyld, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
.
.
.
Indexes 1851-1880 Ancestry[2]

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241337.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 08 July 2103.
  2. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 14 April 2012.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 June 2015, at 12:12.
  • This page has been accessed 816 times.